Sunday, March 31, 2013

Cathedral Of The Black Goat 3 review

I had an opportunity to finally check out Cathedral Of The Black Goat 3 that took place near my town recently. I missed the first two and heard a lot about it. The show is well organize by Myrmydon and the previous two are proof of that. The original location for this was Cafe' Lura and the day before the show the place lost its license so it had to be moved to another location not to far away from Cafe' Lura, (thanks to Dave) at the LiveWire down the street. The time for the event changed as well, from 2pm to now 11am. With many bands and fans traveling from different states and countries you might think this would put a big damper on things but, as I found out it turned out to be an excellent show. Originally priced at 25.00 dollars the admission turned into a donation which most people gladly gave to support the cause. Arriving at 10:45am there was already a line at the door as I expected. I quickly got into conversation with people and many were excited and did not even mind the sudden change of events, rather they were energetic and thrilled to be there.




People were let in around 11:40 am and it was announced that only 60 people will be allowed in. The first band Infernal Sacrament started promptly. Adorned with full red robe and skeletal spinal column on the mike stand, the brutality began. Baphometic Fire took the stage next and the atmosphere was intense, fast blast beats and high screams abound. Nuclear Hammer came on and I was impressed by the drummer the most, very determined and solid with his playing. Nocturnal Fear provided the backlined for the entire show which made things much easier for all the bands involved. They played a great set with only drums, guitar and vocals. I really enjoyed the solos and aggressive nature of the songs. Nexul from Texas destroyed with some great songs.




 Black Witchery played with full energy and brought the audience to a new level. I got hit in the pit a few times during their set which is a sign of a good band. Very much enjoyed their music and definitely a crowed favorite. Hellvetron came on a with a dark atmospheric set. Morbosidad from mexico got the entire place going crazy by far bringing the intensity level through the roof, along with bible burning and a full pig head been flung about, it sure was a spectacle to peer your eyes upon. 




Demonic Christ from Ohio played a brutal set with intense guitar sound and some mosh pit action by the audience made it all come together in pure BM style. Bestial Raids from Poland was the headlining act and due to my travels i could not stick around to witness their set. Overall a great experience and will most likely be attending number 4 when it comes around again. Below is a link to the playlist I compiled of all the bands that played this event. You can also visit the links to the official COBG fb site to get more info.






Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Total Negation - Zur späten Stunde | Zeiträume

One man BM band Total Negation will release Zur späten Stunde | Zeiträume album in just a few days. Creating dark, depressive, pessimism and despair melodies since 2007, this latest release is 45 minutes long starting with the song Einkehr. Raw and unprocessed sounds create a solid artistic expression of bleakness and dark landscape. Abstieg is the second song, a memorable bass line intrigues my senses followed by an equally matching guitar riff, the drums build some solid peaks and maintain great double kick work. Einzug, several string instruments paint a lurid passage. There is a steady build up into some well composed arrangements that I enjoy very much. Freilauf, like a trip into a black abyss. Geist, something different happening here and I hear different instruments, according to my source a Vibraphone is used and fits perfectly, a welcomed change considering bands typically stick to the same instruments it is amazing to hear something else that can also create the same dark elements of the music being projected. At times the music reminds me of Burzum or Nargaroth and the feeling is shared by a good friend of mine who listen to a sample of it on Youtube. Zeit, is track number six, vocals are done in true BM style and compliment the arrangement perfectly. The song builds up into a fast paced fury which ends in a well thought out riffing that includes the Vibraphone once again. Raum, several layers of instruments makes this song my favorite of this album. The last track is Traum, my mind instantly thinks of the first Abyss album which is great, aggressive drums raw guitars and some great guitar licks make this one to spin in your stereo for a time to come. Other releases by Total Negation include "A Life Lead by Sorrow and Not by Myself" demo from 2008 and full length  Zeitenwende in 2009. Overall I am very impressed by the level of skill this musician has, achieving all the arrangements an executing each song perfectly. When you listen without knowing, you might think there are six members or more but its only one, not to mention the fact that recording and gathering all the materials it takes to release and album, this is a great accomplishment and I recommend to all true BM fans to check out this album and lend your support.
~Artemortifica 

Total-Negation Facebook 
Total Negation/Nachts BandCamp
Total Negation blogspot





                     



Immolation - Kingdom of Conspiracy Lyric video

Made available just a few hours ago on the official Immolation Youtube channel check the the brand new lyric video for Kingdom of Conspiracy.


 



Darkyrie - Feature model #21 3/2013


Introducing Darkyrie Modeling-Photography




1- What inspired you to do modeling? Was there a point early in your life that sparked your interest?
I started modeling because a lot of people told me that I was photogenic and that I should try it out. At 18 I did my first shoot, and everyone loved it, so I started to contact photographer to do new projects with them.




2- You have dark elements to your style, was there an event or moment that made you decide on your style?
I don't always use the dark elements in my photos. I like to play with different effects and create art. I do enjoy making horror pictures and scaring my friends when they see them, and ask me to stop cause it freaks them out, but this is art and you have to use your imagination a make new and interesting experiments with your photos.




3- Name some of your favorite music or bands?
My favourite music is in the Metal genres. Mostly Extreme and Folk/Pagan Metal are my favourites. 
Arkona, Adorned Brood, Fferyllt, Kalevala, Epica, Týr, My Dying Bride, Cannibal Corpse, Arch Enemy, Graveworm, Napalm Death, Noctem, Vermingod, Kadavrik...




4- Name some of your accomplishments or highlights of your career so far?
Merchandise Photos for bands: Adorned Brood, Fferyllt, 3FoldPain, etc...
Magazine, covers and interviews: "Gorgeous Freaks Magazine" (Costa Rica), "Explosión Cerebral Zine" (Peru), "Mutilador Ezine" (Mexico),
"Metal Queens: Model Book 2" (USA), "Archivo Metal" (Chile), etc...
These are some of the things I can highlight, all of my accomplishments are stated on my page.

5- Do you enjoy regular photoshoots? Or ones where you get to play a character?
I don't really mind playing a character in my sets, I just love doing photos, whether they are story based or not.




6- What other interest do you have besides modeling?
I like drawing and doing digital designs, concerts and festivals, going to the cinema, singing with my band "Fri Sjel"...




7- Are there any significant projects or events you are looking forward to in the coming months?
Yes, I have been asked to design a complete CD cover and booklet with my photos for a band, which will be out in the middle of the year.




8- If someone is interested in hiring you (modeling agency, bands, producers, etc..) where is the best place to get a hold of you?
Facebook  metalhead profile: Facebook-darkyriemetalhead
My Facebook profile: Facebook-Darkyrie
Manager: einsamvuk@gmail.com



Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Crome Molly - Bloody Murder Circus

I was originally introduced to Crome Molly through reading AEA zine. I had listen to one or two tracks on Myspace too. Death March starts my trip into this album, a haunting and chilling chant draws the listener right in. Eyes Sewn Shut, the bass is a dominant force on this track, there are multiple vocals which is nice cause they all fit in perfectly. Schitzo, sounds exactly like the title, I am loving the vocals.
"Weed" completely brings me back to my smokin days' and if I still did, this song would make me spark up a fatty for sure, very cool solo in this song. Crome Molly formed in 2004 and hail from Tennessee. The cover to Bloody Murder Circus is a fitting image as you listen to this album it feels like a mad ride in a circus. My Hate, catchy melodic riffs and impressive clean vocals make this one to spin several times. If i had to compare to some other bands I would have to say a little bit of Down, Suicidal Tendencies, or maybe even early Motley Crue. There is a rap song (Dam Bam) and I found myself enjoying it, goes to show the diversity in their music. The title track "Bloody Murder Circus" sweet chorus, going on their photos from their live performances, they all have stage characters all lead by ringmaster Joesepth Devil and this song is very fitting. Overall an exciting experience and enjoyable songs.
~Physical publication in AEA zine #22
~Artemortifica


Crome Molly FB
Crome Molly Official




Monday, March 25, 2013

Dew-Scented Confronting Entropy

Insurgent is the name of the new album by Dew-Scented. Below is the track Confronting Entropy released toay from the bands official label Metal Blade Records. The album release date is May 27th 2013. You can also listen to it on SoundCloud. Pre-order link below.










Dew-Scented Insurgent Pre-orders at Metal Blade


Kvelertak - Månelyst Official video

A montage of all your favorite horror films done from scratch and some killer music to go with it and you get Kvelertak - Månelyst- released on Roadrunner Records March 25th 2013







Nader Sadek - Sulffer

Released on Season of Mist/GreyHaze Records May 2011 this is "Sulffer" by Nader Sadek







Sunday, March 24, 2013

Seraphina Fiero - Feature model #20 3/2013

Introducing Seraphina Fiero; fine artist, bellydancer, burlesque performer, and alternative model.


JLD Imagery - Photography by Jessica L Drake


1- What inspired you to do modeling? Was there a point early in you life that sparked your interest?
I didn't begin modeling until after I turned 30. When I was younger I never really had much exposure to the world of modeling, and certainly didn't have the confidence to think I could be a part of it. When I was in my late 20's I attended art school and spent hours in the life drawing studio. I loved human form and the strength and grace the models had. During this time I was also taking an average of 6-8 hours of dance lessons a week. The combination of learning how to have body control and studying classical poses became my gateway drug into modeling. I wanted to look like the marble statues I studied in art history, I wanted to become a living work of art. A few years later I became a full time belly-dancer and burlesque performer. I started making all my own costumes, props, headpieces, and jewelry. All of this along with a flair for the dramatic gave me the idea that I should give modeling a try. The rest is history.

2- Bellydancing and Burslesque are part of your style, was there an event or moment that made you decide on this style?
From a young age I thought bellydance was the most beautiful, exotic, and mysterious dance form I'd ever seen. These women were goddesses: strong, skilled, and beautiful. They moved their bodies in ways that most did not, it was sensual and radical all at the same time. I reached a time in my life where I wanted to pursue all the things I always wanted to but never did. Bellydance was at the top of my list and I immersed myself in it. I was exposed to burlesque at a show I was bellydancing in, I saw Iva Handfull for the first time and she turned my world upside down. I wanted to know what in the world this crazy, sexy, awesome art form was. It wasn't long until I was making my first pair of pasties and wanting to take it all off. My style has evolved into a mix of the two, sometimes I keep them separate and sometimes I don't. I have an enormous love for both and don't ever want to choose between the two.  My style is not conventional at all. It's very radical and contains a mish mash of my fine art, bellydance, burlesque, goth aesthetic, nerdery, and my own rebellious nature.



Drumroll Studios


3- Name some of your favorite music or bands? 
My musical tastes are very eclectic. Some of my favorites are 90's Haujobb and NIN, Snog, Moonspell, Blut Aus Nord, Rage Against the Machine, Massive Attack, older Juno Reactor, Puscifer, Pigface, Iron Maiden, Ministry, Moth Equals, Tool, Radiohead, Pink Floyd, and Ulver.


Wittypixel Photography


4- Name some of your accomplishments or highlights of your career so far? 
I have become a professional performer, I teach dance out of my home, taught myself how to costume, performed out of state every year including Tribal Fest in California and the Windy City Burlesque Festival in Chicago, became a member of Stripped Screw Burlesque, performed at venues all over Seattle, and have embarked in modeling all in a few years. I have had the pleasure of modeling for POC Photography, Drumroll Studios, WittyPixel Photography, JLD Images, and Meneldor Photography.

5- Do you enjoy regular photoshoots? or ones where you get to play a character?
I try to have as many photoshoots as possible! I love being in front of the lens, and I'm always at no shortage for ideas for photoshoots. I especially like it when I get to play a certain character, or have a specific feel or mood to the shoot. Some of my favorite costumes to wear are video-game and sci-fi based. I have been a nerd and gamer for most of my life; it's always a challenge to see how creative I can get with the costuming and photoshoots to do the characters justice. 

6- What other interest do you have besides modeling?
I enjoy nature, activism, fire dancing, and other hippie pastimes. I also love to cook, and can be found making delectable edibles in the kitchen. I've also been told my curry is bomb.


POC Photo


7- Are there any significant projects or events you are looking forward to in the coming months?
I have some new and very edgy photoshoots planned with Meneldor Photography; one involving a mowhawk made of knives that I am designing. Also, an experimental outdoor photoshoot with WittyPixel Photography. My burlesque troupe Stripped Screw Burlesque has amazing shows planned all year long and I also have a two-woman show planned with the fabulous Iva Handfull in the fall.


Photo by POC


8- If someone is interested in hiring you (modeling agency, bands, producers, etc..) where is the best place to get a hold of you?

Find me on Facebook and check out some of my pictures, videos, and other tidbits: facebook.com/seraphinadance. Or via email: seraphinafiero@gmail.com.




Saturday, March 23, 2013

Antoinette Michael Thornes - Issues

Pure Rock from the NYC area with a highly talented vocalist Antoinette. The first song For Keeps automatically grabs my attention, the album has great production everything is clear and well balanced. Fortune's Fool, catchy guitar riffs and involved bass lines. This band has been together since 2010 and have played many live performances. Its interesting to note, the vocalist Antoinette lost her voice in an accident, in that time span she wrote music. By listening to her amazing voice you could never tell she went without it for some time. Are These Tears?, great sound on the guitars, warm tone and perfect pitch on the solos. Detroit Hustle, high praise on the bass, very hard driven song and probably my favorite so far. Between You &Me, has a bluesy feel and I am enjoying it very much, you can hear some dual vocals on this track. Gaslight, I am hearing a Led Zeppelin influence on this song which is a very good thing. Always, has beautiful acoustic guitar work, very pristine sound and vocals paint a beautiful landscape of harmony. Someday, great lyric content and sung with deep emotion. The last song starts of with a life performance feel which is great then the music kicks in with some clean guitars and I get that blues sound running in my head once again. So many different aspects of rock n roll been projected on this album leave me wondering what the next album will sound like, one thing for sure the vocals are unique and  will stay in my head for years to come.
~Frank G
~Artemortifica

Thornes official
Antoinette Michael Thornes RN site
Thornes FB 






Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Shallow Grave Satanic Orchestra - Use Your Conclusion Part1

Use Your Conclusion Part1, not sure what I was expecting when I popped this into my stereo. Shallow Grave called themselves a surrealist techno punk rock interstellar goth dub stomp band, now that's a tall order, they are from Illinois. The first track Inconspicuous Oubliette starts with clean guitars, I like the vocals. Cock for a Day, a drum machine is evident which is cool with me since I too write to drum machine on my projects. Dear Phelps Family, cool samples overlay along with heavier guitar sound. Racist Hollow Body, some interesting bass lines with off time drums give this one a jammin vibe, I hear a heavy Marilyn Manson influence on this track, vocals are BM style which is cool. The End Was Here (Scott Walker Remix) techno black metal mix, a well stitched composition, pure drums, keys and raw BM vocals. Team Wolf, probably my favorite song on this album both for lyrical content and musical mayhem. Agnostic Floyd, I like the guitar solos that appear in the middle of this song. John Doe #3 starts with a killer's confession of strange blood on his hands followed by what I could describe as the dub stomp part of the music along with raw BM vocals. Punk Rocker Hooker, maybe one day this could be made into a cult horror film, I love that title, this could be its soundtrack. Last song is Star, overall Shallow grave is psychedelic experience of sound I will never forget, check out their tracks on the Soundcloud widget provided on this blog.
~Frank G.
~Artemortifica
Physical publication in AEA zine #22

Shallow Grave FB








Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Kirlian Camera - Night Glory

This is my first time experiencing music by Kirlian Camera. This group has been around since 1980 and have a long list of accomplishments and album releases. The one I am reviewing is Night Glory. The first track is I'm Not Sorry, a captivating beginning, a compelling story is unfolding and keeps me interested. Elena Alice Fossi has some amazing vocals I am really enjoying them. Night Glory, dark keyboard elements start this track of, this leads into a vibrant composition that is sure to have people singing at live performances. Save me Lord (From Killing Them All) absolutely my favorite track on this album, there is so much to adore about this song, first the acoustic guitar is pristine and provides a landscape of emotion for the lyrics, such a beautiful story and with some vocal layers to move your mind and spirit, this song will be paying on my stereo for many years to come. "Winged Child Sitting On A Bench Watching Obscure Clouds Getting Close While People Seek For Shelter" this has got to be one of the longest titles for a song I have ever seen, but that's what makes it good, the music is dark and electrifying, the content engages the listener to explore the lyrics and find the deeper meaning. "I Kill Judas" this song has a Pink Floyd influence to it, but sustains its own signature, there are some deep keys hypnotizing my mind as I listen. Immortal is much more fast paced track with intense vocals to tell you a fascinating tale. "I Gave You Wings, I Gave You Death", is the last song on this album, its been a tremendous journey of musical delight. I enjoy this album very much and I highly recommend for fans of Anathema, Pink Floyd or Sirenia.
~Frank G.
~Artemortifica
Physical publication AEA zine #22 AEA zine 22 

Kirlian Camera Myspace
Kirlian Camera official







Nostalgia - Negativo EP

A four piece band from Lima, Peru. Beginning in 2007 this is their EP Negativo (Negative). The first track is Nada es Verdad, Nada es Para Siempre (Nothing is True, Nothing is Forever) melodic and eerie building into a BM style of riffing. El Dolor Me Mantiene Vivo (The Pain Keeps Me Alive) a strong song, good production on the drums, very clear and balanced, nice bass lines are spread through out, great composition, we also get a acoustic piece towards the end which is awesome. Tus Cicatrices (Your Scars) True BM style like old Mayhem or Satyricon, drums are doing some awesome rhythm fills, a fast pace track much more aggressive than the first two, I would have to say it is my favorite of this EP. The band labels themselves depressive and Extreme music and it is correct, the members of this current line up are Neandro R. Esteves Alcazar - (Vocals) Fernando Minei Niquen - (Bass) Carlos Vargas Escate - (Guitars) Jorge Sánchez Meza - (Drums). Estas Muerta (You're Dead), is the final track, it begins with a spine chilling solo followed by equally intense bass fill, true hymns of BM brutality are abound through its entirety. The bands music is widely available to anyone who is interested, they are independent and very active in their area. Overall I enjoy this EP, it had many surprises, but what i like the most is how they captured the original black metal style of the early days which is how I grew up listening to it, it is pleasing to hear its still very much alive in their writings.
~Artemortifica

Nostalgia Reverbnation
Nostalgia SoundCloud
Nostalgia Youtube
Nostalgia Facebook










Monday, March 18, 2013

Ogenix - EP 2013

Ogenix, Electro/metal from Montreal Canada. A five piece band that began in 2001. The first song is Ignition/Fire, an unexpected start leading into heavy guitars an intense vocals, not growling but more like aggressive feeling and shouts. Decay, mix of synth and chunky style of riffing, its a great track, I hear the metal aspect of the band on this one. Rouge, drums are a highlight for this song as many styles of rhythms are applied along with memorable guitar arrangements. MKT, is a beast of a song- guaranteed to start a massive mosh pit. This song is my favorite from the entire EP it reminds me of an old band I still listen to, November17, Defy Everything and Trust No One. The End, final track into my exploration of Ogenix, a great way to close this EP and with a Fear Factory style of melody within it, its definitely going to be leaving the listeners wanting more. Be sure to also check out their previous release Cult. I recommend this EP for fans of Fear Factory, Static X, Rammstein, November 17 or God Forbid. You can also purchase their music through BandCamp on the link provided below this review.
~Artemortifica

Ogenix BandCamp
Ogenix Facebook  







The Rotted - The Rotted F*cking Earth (Video)

D-beat Death Metal band The Rotted has recently released a video for the song The Rotted Fucking Earth. Self produced and released - be sure to check out the links to purchase their material.











Sunday, March 17, 2013

Steph BabyGoth - Feature Model #19 3/2013


Introducing Steph BabyGoth Alexander;



1- What inspired you to do modeling? Was there a point early in your life that sparked your interest? 
Well when I was younger My sister and I would mess around with cameras, taking photos of each other. Then the older we got we continued and the better the pictures became. Then it made me realize I love doing this. I love modeling for a camera and I love taking photos. I love dressing up. My sister kinda inspired me to get into modeling. She helped me get more photogenic and later on I met this guy who was a photographer. We ran into each other in a store and he told me I looked amazing and my style was just spectacular. So I did photos with him and used the tips my sister gave me and became really good at modeling.






  
2- You have dark elements to your style, was there an event or moment that made you decide on your style?
I grew up listening and watching the old Marilyn Manson and his style was sooo unique and I wanted to become unique too. Not many people dress the way I do around here. But each and every year or month even I find something to add to my style to make it stand out.





3- Name some of your favorite music or bands?
I love Industrial music, Metal, Rock, or anything I can dance to. I love the old Marilyn Manson, Slipknot, Mushroomhead, Eisenfunk, Stone Sour, Blutenel, Rammstein, FgFc820, Combichrist, Typo Negative, Anglespit.




4- Name some of your accomplishments or highlights of your career so far?
Well I'm Finally getting put onto sites, My dancing is getting more known. and It feels good to be able to do the things I enjoy doing.





5- Do you enjoy regular photoshoots? or ones where you get to play a character?
I love both. Ones where I can be myself and show off my uniqueness and I love dressing up at Alice in wonderland.





6- What other interest do you have besides modeling? 
I love dancing. I do industrial dancing, And making new outfits.




7- Are there any significant projects or events you are looking forward to in the coming months?
I am right now just working on costumes for upcoming photoshoots and events, just my shoots and concerts.



  
8- If someone is interested in hiring you (modeling agency, bands, producers, etc..) where is the best place to get a hold of you? 
My facebook page or youtube. My facebook is Facebook.com/XxBabyxGothxX Youtube is Steph92a



Skineater - Official Video - Dismantling

Released only a few weeks ago, here is the official video for the Skineater track Dismantling
Read my review of their album here Skineater-Dermal Harvest Review


Totengefluster - Vom Seelensterben

Totengefluster - three piece Symphonic BM band from Germany. Album: Vom Seelensterben. Die Prophezeiung is the first song, captivating and intriguing, a well thought out composition of excellent musicianship which leads us into Ein Traumgespinst, drummer Schattendorm is a superior blaster this is immediately noticeable, relentless from the first hits. Ein Monolog im Mondschein, vocals are high and engaging like early Behemoth or Mayhem, an ethereal atmosphere is created with different combinations of high and lows mix with eerie clean yet disturbing demonic chant like shouts. Gefrorene Tränen, many aspects of this track are reasons why I enjoy listening to good BM, the symphonic parts of this band are highlighted on this track and leads us into the next Vom Seelensterben, brutal, epic and destructive forces of sheer speed rip through the senses, very well executed. Der Pakt, by far my favorite track, memorable riffs and aggressive arrangements. I will be spinning this song for times to come. The overall production of this disc is excellent, all the instruments are balanced and well understood, turning up the volume at the highest levels does not take away but enhance the experience even more.  Blutsegen - Die strömende Erkenntnis, if you want to hear how awesome this drummer is go directly to this track, so many great dynamics are executed with precision speed its truly a splendor for your ears. Ein neuer Pfad, here we experience the magnificent sounds of the keyboards painting an elegant landscape to lead us into another macabre composition. Im Tau der toten Morgensonne an intense and perpetual trip through a dark world. The last track Ein Monolog im Mondschein (orchestral Version) * Bonustrack, one of the best musical arrangements I have heard- like an adventure through a dark mystical void, at almost 7 minutes long it is one hell of a bonus track. If you are looking to hear some true BM this is where you will find it. These are incredible musicians, considering there are only three- it is very admirable. 
~Artemortifica

Myspace Totengefluester 
Totengefluester Official