Saturday, February 28, 2015

Toxoid - Aurora Satanae

Toxoid is a band from India. Members are Adnan Khan - Lead Guitar/ Vocals, Sagar sidhanti - Drums, Paul Marandi - Bass, Angad Singh - Guitar. Genre described as Satanic Black Metal. 

Aurora Satanae, album released on December 7th, 2014 Transcending Obscurity Distribution. Rising from the deep darkness of the abyss, this is a slab of sheer terror. Comprised of raw and relentless music to crush the senses. The album consist of six tracks. Pure malevolence thru every orifice. The title track Aurora Satanae hits high marks on my radar. Like the early days of Black Metal, blistering blast beats and demonic screams. Thy Infernal Defloration starts with a haunting melody, then melts the mind with unhinged black metal devastation. The production is not the best, but its dirty and harsh sound adds to the dark atmosphere being created.

My final thoughts. the music is an intense and powerful projection of BM. Its raw quality only serves to add an extra dimension of horror to the already spine crushing sounds. ~Artemortifica

facebook-HELL666BIRD






Sepulchral Curse - A Birth in Death

Sepulchral Curse is a four piece death metal band from Finland. Members include Kari Kankaanpää - Vocals, Jaakko Riihimäki - Guitars, Tommi Ilmanen - Drums, Niilas Nissilä - Bass. 

A Birth in Death album released on December 15th, 2014, Chaos & Hell Productions. Here we have four tracks from the great depths of hell. The vocals are pure demonic infestation. Low and destructive. There are high vocals as well which add a second dimension to the experience. Some of the bands that come to mind as I listen are, Suffocation, Entombed, Grave and Gorefest.  The whole thing is over rather quickly but the tracks are catchy enough to stick with you long after the EP is over. Songs like Demonic Pestilence are crushing and reflect the early dm style of the 90s. Torn to Shreds is another stand out and will make you want to punch things. I enjoyed the entire ride. The EP is powerful and will be a great addition to any metal fans library. ~Artemortifica

facebook-SepulchralCurseDM 









Friday, February 27, 2015

CRYPTIC HYMN Post New Lyric Video 'Revel In Disgust' + Announce Poltourgeist Tour

CRYPTIC HYMN, the blackened death metal band forged from ex-Voyage of Slaves members Dave Palenske, Jon Grace, and Nathaniel Vowell as well as Josh Mumford of Anagnorisis have posted a new lyric video for their single 'Revel In Disgust' at the following link here. The single is also available for free download on Bandcamp and Soundcloud to give fans a taste of what's to come in 2015 as they work pre-production on their debut release. Fans of death metal, black metal, thrash and doom who head bang to bands such as At The Gates, Death, Revocation, Skeletonwitch are sure to feel the brutal assault Cryptic Hymn offers in the mosh pit as they perform show dates alongside Dysphorium for the Poltourgeist Tour.





ÉOHUM Post Teaser Video For Debut Album 'Revelations, Aurora of An Epoch

Formed in 2010 from the mind of guitarist / writer Jeremy Perkins, Éohum (pronounced ee-o-um) brings together some of the most dark and groove oriented metals of heavy low end doom riffs to meet black metal atmospheres.  With shredding guitar tones uplifted by the French horns plus a touch of clean breaks with beautiful lyrics and vocals, Éohum expand their style within the relentless drive that surround a new air, a new sound, an attempt to join forces with eco-awareness and spirit for their upcoming debut album, 'Revelations, Aurora Of An Epoch', which will be made available as a pay what you want release via Perkins' indie label Mycelium Networks.



"April 7th we unleash our first beast, 'Revelations Aurora Of An Epoch' and it will give everyone a good idea of what Éohum has to offer. A storm of relentless black, doom and death metal embark together on a ship of progressive madness. With guests like Matt McGachy on this album, one can enjoy a multitude of arrangements with its original sound, which we are so proud to share with the world, but this is just the beginning!" comments Perkins.

The release features a collective of musicians that includes guest vocals from Matt McGachy (Cryptopsy) (Tracks 3-4-5-7), Lana Edwards (Intro & Outro), Phillippe Rieder (Track 6), Nick Wybo (ex-Vinyl Hero) on drums, Annie Perreault on French horn/trumpet, Sylvain Dumont on guitar, James Heymans on bass and Perkins himself on guitar plus a live line up that includes drummer Simon Mackay (The Agonist) and vocalist Barrie Butler (ex : Tard).

 “I like to have guests and friends from the scene on the album it gives a great touch and makes our stuff evolve and progress tremendously. The album should be received as fresh meat on the slab, especially with a French horn with groove doom low ends that makes the Éohum sound stand out.” says Perkins.

With so much talent from various backgrounds, Éohum blend the most gruesome with the cleanest of black and doom metal to create hypnotic riffs with seducing horns ready to be injected into the veins of metal fans.

Musically ‘Revelations, Aurora Of An Epoch’ gives a great opportunity to taste a different aspect where you can chill out to a doom song and get up and swing your 4 foot long hair to our blackest riffs a second later in this relentless progression. Expect a groove and good sounding black metal without the new age tech-metal touches, we stick to the root, but with a better sound than black metal is usually attributed too and some doom to make your day.” Perkins adds.

Éohum is recommended for fans of Emperor, Immortal, Therion, Dimmu Borgir, Deicide, Neurosis, Behemoth.

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Apostate - Time Of Terror

Apostate is a five piece band from Ukraine. Members are Alexander Kostko (Bass), Bohdan Kozub (Vocals), Nikita Holovin (Drums), Vlad Filimon (Guitar), Yuriy Savchuk (Guitar). Genre described as death doom metal. 

Time Of Terror is the bands second album released on March second 2015 under Ferrrum Records. It has been five years in the making and its massive. The release consist of five tracks and is close to an hour long. The doom roots are clearly planted in the ground, no doubt about it. One of the things that is catching to my ears is the sense of melody that carries from passage to passage even through the more gritty and aggressive compositions. The song "Pale Reflection" resonates with me with its dark malevolent intro and demonic growls. The deep tones and crushing chords can be felt through the speakers. Solar Misconception is another notable track, many dissonant chords and intense lyrics come thru as thunderous and destructive. The production of this album is very good, all the instruments are pronounced and guitars have good distortion and tone. Consider the low tuning, everything has a good balance.

Final thoughts, the music is powerful and their fans will not be disappointed. The music creates dark passages and is heavy enough to bring walls down. I recommended for fans of Neurosis, The Lumberjack Feedback, Regurgitating Oblivion and Evoken. ~Artemortifica

facebook-Apostate 





Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Kaledon - Antillius: The King Of The Light

Kaledon is a five piece band from Rome, current line up Alex Mele - Guitars, Tommy Nemesio - Guitars, Paolo Campitelli - Keyboards, Paolo Lezziroli - Bass, Massimiliano Santori - Drums. They are currently looking to fill the vocal spot. Genre is described as Power/heavy metal.

Antillius: The King of Light album released on Scarlet Records November 18th 2014. This album contains twelve tracks. My first impression is, melodic and epic. Essentially each track tells one long story. Battle and engagement in mid evil times. High spirited lyrics and progressive melodies are a huge part of the content. All this becomes clear from the opening song "In Aeternum". Highly talented musicians at work, from the keyboards to the guitars, all around each song is monumental. The solos are catchy and well written. I usually do not get to review many symphonic/melodic albums. Listening to this was refreshing and very enjoyable. One of the tracks that resonated with me the most was "My Will", the acoustic intro and excellent riff work that followed stayed with me for a long time and I found myself playing it over several times.

Final thoughts, the music is powerful. The wide variety of melodies and strong lyric content make it one to stand out above the rest. I recommend it for fans of Symphonic, Epic and melodic heavy metal, add this one to your collection. ~Artemortifica

facebook-kaledonofficial 







Cadaveria - Silence

Cadaveria is a five piece band from Italy consisting of Cadaveria - Vocals, Frank Booth - Guitar, Dick Laurent - Guitar, Killer Bob - Bass, Marçelo Santos - Drums. genre is described as Horror metal.

Silence is their album released on Scarlet Records November 2014. The album contains eleven songs. my first thoughts are, they are definitely intense and aggressive in their delivery. Good and catchy melodies can be found through out this entire opus. The dark atmospheric and eerie passages have a way of seeping into your mind. One of my favorite tracks Carnival Of Doom features memorable clean vocals in the very beginning and are captivating. The song Out Loud is another notable track and is more gritty than the previous songs. As far as production goes, the quality is top notch, from the drums to the strings -everything is upfront and clear. In conclusion, the music is powerful and creates an adventure that's both horrorfic and haunting yet melodic and catchy. ~Artemortifica

facebook-cadaveria








Friday, February 20, 2015

Wombbath's much awaited vinyl release out now on Chaos Records

The unheralded classic album from Sweden's legendary death metal history is highlighted in full glory here and more. Remastered by none other than Dan Swano, this album is presented for the first time on official vinyl format for the die-hard maniacs. This band garnered a cult following and it is easy to see why - the music has astonishing heaviness coupled with massive grooves akin to the US death metal bands as well. This is far removed from the typical Swedish death metal sound and yet enriches the image by doing more, way more than most other bands during that time without diminishing the balls-out heaviness. Wombbath have released one of the best albums of their time circa early '90s and this is your final chance to get it on the analog format.

Track list - 
1. Prevent Anemia 
2. Intestinal Bleeding 
3. A Silent As The Grave 
4. A Corporal Punishment 
5. Performed In Depth 
6. Conceal Interior Torments 
7. Beyond The Gloomy 
8. Abandon 
9. Several Shapes 

The full album can be streamed here on the official Chaos Records Bandcamp page
chaos-records.bandcamp-internal-caustic-torments





Order now at this location 

ETERNAL SOLSTICE Exclusive Stream: "Force Fed Suicide"

Dutch underground cult death metal unit ETERNAL SOLSTICE are streaming a new track from Remnants of Immortality, their first full-length album in nearly two decades. Crown of Viserys is offering the exclusive stream of "Force Fed Suicide" at this location.

After a pair of 7" vinyl splits released in 2011 and 2013 by Dark Descent Records, ETERNAL SOLSTICE is set to unleash nine tracks of throat-ripping sonic devastation. Dark Descent Records will release this uptempo beast of an album, filled with tons of shredding solos, on March 10 in the US (RED) and March 17 in Europe (Sound Pollution) and April 2 (Code 7/PhD)


COLD LUNGS Exclusive Live Off The Floor Performance Video of 'New Pictures//Old Frames

On the southside of Edmonton in the dead of winter, Cold Lungs set out to gather friends from the local hardcore scene to record their first live video. It was shot entirely live off the floor in the practice space for Cold Lungs and a few other local bands. Chad Steeves Photography, Firth Photography, and a couple of GoPro's captured the madness that ensued. The entire EP New Pictures//Old Frames was played front to back (along with 2 older songs) by 3 frenzied young men. This video represents two parts: one dim and the other grim, the black and white filming gives viewers a sense of the atmosphere and the loud abrasive music showcases the aggression of the Edmonton Hardcore scene. The video spans just under 24 minutes covering every facet of their passionate performance.

"This video couldn't have happened without the help of these insanely talented people we're lucky to call our friends.. Alley Kat brewery were also kind enough to give us a keg of beer, and a ton of people were kind enough to drink said beer and trash our basement. We couldn't be happier with how it turned out, it has the exact mood and atmosphere we want to create for our music, abrasive and chaotic." - Justin (Bass and vocals)


Left to Right: Justin (Bass and vocals), Tyler (Drums), Zach (Guitar)
Photo Credit - F/rith Photography
Watch the video on the link below



Track Listing: Cold Lungs - New Pictures//Old Frames EP
1) Last night I watched Myself sleep...
2) Family Ties
3) Mind
4) Fuck the Glory Days
5) ...Then I Flew Away
Album Length: 39:50


Natal Cleft - Natal Cleft EP

Natal Cleft is a four piece band from Cebu City, Philippines. Members include Den2-stixxx, Rex-low end, Darrs-strings, Zeekevil-voxxx, Atan-strings. They describe their genre as Cerebral Metal.

Natal Cleft EP self released in 2010. I was recently contacted by the bands vocalist who witness my interview of Glynford Cabarse recently. Glynford happened to do a shirt design for the band. This EP consist of four tracks. The opening song Paradise establishes a good rhythm for me. It is heavy and intense no doubt. At times the band veers of the standard death metal measures and adds a progressive, sometimes blues aspect to the song. The vocals are a mix of high and low, overall the song is brutal and the riffs are memorable. Blank TV host an official video for this song and it is worth checking out. The vocalist has an interesting vocal mic holder that resembles a long knife, fitting for the brutal music they are projecting. Particles Of Hate features some very catchy solos and possesses many of the more modern metal riffing like Chimera or Arch Enemy. The song Deceit is probably my favorite from this EP. It starts with a melody that easily sticks in my mind, the track reminds me of Corrosion Of Conformity or Down. A moving and thrashing type of song. I can easily head-bang and trow my fist in the air while listening to this track. Tortured Heaven is more raw in terms of production but the intensity still comes through. 

Overall I enjoyed listening to all these songs and I found myself jammin' to their diverse style, not just straight forward death metal but adding a few different elements to keep things interesting. ~Artemortifica

facebook-natalcleftmusic




Thursday, February 19, 2015

El Salvador's CONCEIVED BY HATE Debut New Track

El Salvadoran Death Thrashers CONCEIVED BY HATE have debuted a new track from Coalition of Death at MetalUnderground.com. Stream 'Hypocritical Sense of Ego" exclusively at this location.

On March 10 Morbid Skull Records will release a double dose of destruction entitled
Coalition of Death, a split release featuring El Salvador's CONCEIVED BY HATE and Colombia's AKHERON.  The album will be limited 500 hand-numbered copies, including 50 diehard versions with extras. Stream "Devotees of Death" from CONCEIVED BY HATE at this location and "Estigma" from AKHERON right here.

Death Thrashers CONCEIVED BY HATE begins the sinister proceedings with three original slash 'n burners and an incendiary rendition of DISSECTION's "Thorns of Crimson Death." Formed in 2002 by Morbid Skull Records owner and guitarrist/vocalist Jorge Montesino (DISORDER, MORBID STENCH) with co-founders Carlos Basagoitia and Rene Vega, the El Salvadoran unit leaves behind nothing but scorched earth with their contribution. CONCEIVED BY HATE is currently working on its next full-length album and is in the midst of planning a European invasion.

The second half of the split features the sonic mayhem and savagery for AKERHON's Violent Thrash! Featuring four tracks, including a wicked cover of MISFIT's "Where Eagles Dare," AKHERON continues their eardrum shattering assault with lyrical themes on the originals of existentialism, mental degradation, mankind's warring territorial obsessions, and the continual downward spiral of what others might call daily life. Launched in 2003, AKHERON is led by founder/composer/vocalist/guitarist Juan Guerra who along with bassist Julie Gomez, drummer Luis Galeano, and guitarist Jonathan Jimenez seeks only to destroy.


Track List:

1.Devotees of Death [Conceived by Hate]
2.Hypocritical Sense of Ego [Conceived by Hate]
3.Embrace the Absurd [Conceived by Hate]
4.Thorns of Crimson Death (Dissection cover) [Conceived by Hate]
5.Estigma [Akheron]
6.Chemtrail [Akheron]
7.In-conformista [Akheron]
8.Where Eagles Dare (Misfits cover) [Akheron]

CONCEIVED BY HATE





Edenkaiser Exclusive Interview

It is with great pleasure to introduce our readers to Edenkaiser.




1) Hello and welcome, please tell our readers a little about band? Where are you from? How did this group come to be?

Lianne Krossburner: Hi, Frank. First of all, thank you for this interview; it's a pleasure for us to be here. So EDENKAISER was born is Barcelona (Spain) in 2009; it was founded by Häwkmoon, the guitarist, who at the beginning was the vocalist as well. When I got in the band, I was the bass player and we had a drummer, Khorum, a friend of us from years ago... 

Häwkmoon: Few time passed until Lianne started to sing; I always preferred to be focused only in the guitar, and when she did for the first time -it was a day that my throat was fucked up-, and we all said: "wow, she must do the vocals in EDENKAISER!". We needed a bass player, so then it was when we found Vherveroth. With him, we recorded our first official recording: Inferno, a cover of swedish Death Metal legends Vomitory. A few days after, we recorded and released Doomsday Jugernaut, a five song EP, and we were honoured to count with Secthdamon -from Emperor, Zyklon, Odium or Myrkskog- as backing vocals in the song Enter Mephisto. A huge honour for us.

Lianne Krossburner: Well, I have to say that we didn't record this EP with Khorum; he left the country and the music, so we hired Striker, our second drummer... but not the last one.

2) The band released a two song demo "Into The Eternal War" back in 2009, how has the writing process progressed since that time? Is it easier to compose music with the current line up? Who writes the material?

Häwkmoon: Well, it is the same because I always wrote the music -as the same way Lianne writes the lyrics, and then we get together to expose everything to create the final ideas and compositions. It's a very organic process; we really have a great bond, good vibes, and we are focused to the same kind of music, Celtic Frost, Darkthrone, Voivod, Venom, Mayhem or Desaster.

3) The previous album Juggernaut was an independent release, the new album Dominum Ex Mortis will be released through Blacksteel Music, how did the band get signed to this label? did they approach the band or did the band approach the label?

Lianne Krossburner: It's a curious thing. We are the label. Blacksteel Music was created by Häwkmoon and I a few months ago. It just started as an underground metal promotion and booking agency, but we are working hard to do more things into the scene, we are preparing two compilation albums with thirteen national and international extreme metal bands, such as Odium, M-Pire of Evil, Crucified Mortals or Throne of Malediction, and also we are working in a tribute to Slayer with worldwide bands-. After that, we thought: "why not edit our next EDENKAISER work?". Also there are plans about a future re-edition with another label, so it's fine.




4) The band is very active performing live shows, how is the audience reception to your live performances? Any memorable experiences on the show circuit?

Häwkmoon: We had received several offers to play, but to be honest we had to cancel few spanish dates due the continuous drummer replacements. We had five drummers in one year. We played in France and eastern Europe for now, but we are looking forward to start with this 2015 tour! The crowd is very receptive and we keep great experiences before the show, during the show, and of course after the show.

Lianne Krossburner: In eastern europe we were touring some dates in Romania and Moldova with two huge bands: Casus and Coldwar. Three different genres bands, but during these days we became a big family.

5) How is the Black metal scene in Barcelona? Is there big support for black metal in your area?

Häwkmoon: Well, there are many great Black Metal bands in Barcelona, and in general in Spain, like Abrahel, Cauldron, Conjuro Nuclear, Aiumeen Basoa, Owl's Blood and many legends as Ouija or Asgaroth. Also, Spain has been the cradle of another great Death and Thrash Metal bands, like Aposento, Angelus Apatrida, Opposer, Ktulu, or old formations like Legion or Fuck Off.

Lianne Krossburner: There are very good bands here, and in the same way there are many people supporting the scene specially since few years ago, underground press and radios for example, but it cannot be compared with another countries. Black Metal scene here must grow up.

Häwkmoon: This is the main reason why EDENKAISER is focused to outwards.

6) Dominum Ex Mortis is an interesting title, is there a story behind the name? how did it come about?

Lianne Krossburner: Dominum Ex Mortis means "lord of death", and it's a kind of conceptual album. Every song talks about death, in one way or another, and we thought it was the right title to contextualize the work.




7) Name some of  your most notable accomplishments? Any big bands that have shared the stage with you?

Häwkmoon: In the eastern Europe tour, we played at November to Dismember Metal Fest, beside bands as Asphyx or Tankard... we were like "Fuck, man, our idols!". In addition of the shows stuff, we are really proud because in this new album, Tony "Demolition Man" Dolan (ex Venom, Atomkraft, M-Pire of Evil) put backing vocals in one of the songs: Hail to the Godslayer. As huge Venom fans, this was a gift from the Gods!



8) Having been independent since 2009, how difficult was it to get the band's music noticed?

Lianne Krossburner: To clarify, Frank, Doomsday Juggernaut was self-released at the beginning, but one month later, the british label Cold Raw records was interested to re-edit the work. It was fine, we were just starting and we had a label interested in our music, so we were glad. Later the same EP was re-edited by the spanish label Morbid Shrine in tape format. Pretty old-school, isn't it? We are really proud of these two editions. We are very hard workers with EDENKAISER, taking care of all details -merch, artwork, promo, etc-. we even have our own artist, Madness, who works on our covers and shirts designs... our Derek Riggs! Hehehe..

9) With the release of the new album are there any tours or major shows in the works for 2015?

Häwkmoon: Yes, we have a German tour in October with the thrashers Heresy and some touring plans in China, Finland, Italy and some spanish dates. There are few summer fests too, but we are just confirming dates at this moment. It seems it will be a busy year.



10) Are there any plans to play shows in USA?

Lianne Krossburner: We would love it because we have many friends there! I hope we can do it next year. We are looking to play in South America, Norway, Sweden and UK for 2016 too, so we will see how it goes then.

11) If booking agents/news/press want to get in contact with you, what is the best way to reach the band?

Lianne Krossburner: At the moment I am the "manager" of EDENKAISER -we also have a co-manager, Alex-, so they can contact me through official facebook page -www.facebook.com/edenkaiserband- or even my personal profile, and sending an email to edenkaiser@hotmail.com, of course!

12) Thanks so much for participating in my zine, the last lines are for you, any final thoughts?

Lianne Krossburner: Thank you for your time, Frank, and thanks to the readers of this webzine. Stay in blackness!
Häwkmoon: Thank you very much for the support. It's a great pleasure for us to be interviewed in ARTEMORTIFICA. You all rules!

Read the review for their new album- click here Edenkaiser-Dominum Ex Mortis Review


Edenkaiser - Dominum Ex Mortis

Edenkaiser is a four piece band from Barcelona. Members are Lianne Krossburner - Vocals, Häwkmoon - Guitars, Vherveroth - Bass, Wraith - Drums. Genre is described as Black Metal.

Dominum Ex Mortis album to be released on February 20th 2015 through Blacksteel Music. The album is comprised of eight tracks in true BM form. A haunting and captivating guitar melody with a creepy solo attached to it, introduces us to the dark road ahead. Having been exposed to Lianne's vocals from another band (Itnuveth). I had a good idea of what was in store when they finally materialized in the song "Eternal Martyrium", demonic and intense singing, with blistering blast beats and raging guitar riffs, this track is mesmerizing. The Witch and The Beast, this song starts out with a catchy guitar melody and builds into a thunderous manifestation of brutality. The Nekrozone reminds me of the early black metal era like early Emperor or Samael. Well executed and there is a memorable melodic part in the middle of this song that really sticks in my mind. The Blademaster conjures up many imagery of battle in a distant time. The guitar riffs are well executed and fit the overall atmosphere. 

In conclusion, the band delivers a raw, relentless and fierce Black metal attack. Building upon their previous releases, this one raises the bar and should be part of any true BM die hard fans collection. I recommended for listeners of Bathory, Demonic Christ, Black Witchery, Satyricon, Mayhem and others from the early era of BM. ~Artemortifica


facebook-edenkaiserband
Exclusive Interview READ Edenkaiser-Exclusive-Interview





Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Graveyard After Graveyard - Hellhound On My Trail

Graveyard After Graveyard is a three piece band from Vastervik Finspang Gamleby. Members include Jocke Ringdhal :Drums, Mika Lagreen : Solo Guitar, Rogga Johansson: Guitar,Voc,Bass. Genre is described as speed, death, thrash, black metal.

Hellhound On My Trail EP released on Chaos Records on February 23rd 2015. Consisting of six tracks. My first impression is, old school dm to the bone. The vocals are highly influenced by Venom, Sacred Reich or early Overkill. Nothing complex, just raw and gritty rhythms. Songs like Learn To Burn capture the essence of the early years of death metal. I enjoyed listening to this entire EP. It brought back memories of the old tape trading days. One of my favorite tracks would be "Out To Feed", I found myself playing it several times, the thrash metal roots are clear and its an easy song to mosh to. 

The production is certainly not the best but it adds to the raw aggressive quality of the music. I recommended for fans of old school death metal. ~Artemortifica

facebook-Graveyard-AFTER-Graveyard









Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Ravager Artworks - Exclusive interview

It is a pleasure to introduce our readers to artist Joe Ravager Romero of Ravager Artworks.



1) Hello and welcome, please tell our readers a little about yourself? Where are you from? What is your current occupation?

My name is Joe Ravager Romero. I was born and raised in southern California, currently living in Northern Utah. Aside from my art and shirts I have a job at a warehouse in general production.

2) When did your interest in drawing begin?

I'm not sure exactly when, but I think I was 3 or 4, I'm kinda blurry on it but I remember watching others do it mainly my sister just doodled toons and I followed after my mom handed me some random pens and paper I did the rest and well I never stopped 
after that it was too much fun.




3) What where some of your favorite comic books as a child?

In my early years it was Superman because we happened to have a few lying around in the house, but definitely Spiderman and Batman. Then, as the years went by, it was more the Punisher, Ghostrider, Spawn and Lobo, stuff like that.




4) You sell your prints at Gweedo's Comics, how did all that come about?

I happened to support the main owner a lot when he started, we became good friends then we realized we both would do the Salt lake city Comicons and the subject of my art came up. He asked if I would be interested in showing him my stuff and then he would buy some prints of the art I would make and sell them.

5) How has the creation of Ravager Artworks Facebook page helped in getting your artwork noticed?

In a lot of ways really. I didn't think it would but after a while Myspace had died for a lot of us and the facebook thing seemed a great leap forward. So far, it has gained me a lot of support through friends of friends and I kind of like it that way. The underground keeps it alive. Without them I'd be no one at all. The bands are another great part of the growth over the years, that and spreading flyers when I could. The flyers were a bigger impact, a friend of mine encouraged me to get them going and pass them out at events, its been a great response.





6) Death and Doom metal are listed as an influence in your work, name some of the most notable bands that helped shape your visions on paper?

As far as both Doom and Deathmetal...DEMILICH, Morgion, (Early) Symptom, Goatlord, Rottrevore, Adramelech, Phantasm, 13, Lord Of Putrefaction, Anatomia, Coffins...a lot more but I'd go on forever, hahaha..

But I love all kinds of older stuff mainly like Carcass, Broken Hope, Cartilage, Xysma, Crematory, Gorguts, Death, Mucupurulent, Blood(Ger), Hellhammer, Motorhead, Autopsy...lots more.



7) How many bands have you done t-shirt art for?

That I know of, Ghoulgotha, Mortuous, Hellcannon, Grave Ritual and Drowning in the Platte...I'm sure there  has been more but the bands forget to fill me in or they never end up using the artwork for a shirt, some are yet to be made but the arts out there.



8) Name some of your biggest accomplishments?

All of the art I've sold in my life mainly, but to be honest, (and I know this is going to sound weird, but) Learning to love myself is the biggest accomplishment as of late. As an artist well knows we can be our own harshest critics and I as an artist have come to know that well. Also Making people happy with my art, seeing a kids reaction in awe and smiles as they look at my art is what motivates me to NEVER quit Art, plus its all I know and am good at, I think. 



9) Name some of the Zines or E-zines that have featured your artwork?

Aside from this...Reborn in Ashes, Aquelarre Zine, Hellish Propaganda...I think there was more too, but I'm not sure if the Arts were ever posted. Embriotomia Zine is still in the works from what I heard last.



10) What are your aspiration and goals 2015? What are your current projects?

My main yearly goal is as always to push myself to my limits but more in my paintings. I haven't painted in quite a few years actually. Just haven't had the time or drive but I will do that and release more shirts with my art. Aside from that, just larger sized projects and hopefully a few collaborations with some artists. I'm always looking to do anything I can in the Artworld.




11) If any bands/labels/zines etc.. want to get in contact with you what is the best way to reach you?

My facebook is my main page so far:
facebook-RavagerArtworks6613

and for those that do not have a facebook for whatever reason my email:
joeravagerwolfman@yahoo.com

12) Thanks so much for participating in my zine, the last lines are for you, any final thoughts?


only one...NUKE EM ALL!!!

Monday, February 16, 2015

Cemetery Filth - Screams From The Catacombs

Cemetery Filth is a four piece death metal band from Johnson City TN. Members are Jacob Curwen (Vocals), Neal Williams (Bass), Ryan Guinn (Lead Guitar), Jonah Turner (Drums/Percussion).

Screams from The Catacombs EP released as a cassette Unspeakable Axe Records in September 2014. This is a quick overview of this release. At only three tracks, it goes by rather quickly. My first impression is, this is a old school sounding music. Like the bands of the early 90s. Grave, Sinister, Hypocrisy and Monstrosity early albums come to mind. Production is ok. The drums are intense, guitars have a gritty and dirty distortion which add to the overall old school sound.

In conclusion, the release is good but not groundbreaking, if you like the sounds of the early era of death metal, than add this EP to the collection. ~Artemortifica

facebook-CemeteryFilth






Atrum Tempestas - Neant

Atrum Tempestas is a two member band from Oulu, Finland. It is a project by Perttunen -Vocals/instruments and Kylmäaho -Vocals, instruments. Genre described as Atmospheric Black Metal.

Neant album released on October 13th 2014 Nordavind Records. At only three compositions, this release is very impressive. It starts with the song "Quitter ceux qui étaient déjà partis", the dark melodies quickly grab my attention. Think of it as a dark journey through desperate roads. A strumming guitar with a short sample begins the track S'éclipser, the black metal roots are clearly evident and are expressed in each song. A good solid bass tone permeates through out keeping each rhythm interesting and catchy. The final track is "Et après... le néant", a faster paced drum verse comes in and takes us through this torturous labyrinth. A slightly distorted guitar creates some interesting and memorable riffs and are fitting with the rest of the instruments. My only compliant is that it all feels a bit short after listening to it. But overall an enjoyable listening experience and it worth checking out. ~Artemortifica 

facebook-MCMXV




Aphonic Threnody - When Death Comes

Aphonic Threnody is a six piece band from London. Members are Rick - guitars & bass, Rob - vocals, Juan - keyboards & piano, Zack - guitars, Abel - cello, Marco - studio drums, Jeff - live drums. Genre is described as Funeral doom. 

When Death Comes album released on October 31st Doomentia Records. The release features six songs of oppressive and dark hymns. the opening song last for about seventeen minutes. The overall production is very good. The drums are intense and solid. Guitars have heavy distortion and the vocals are crushing in both the low and high screams. Some of the songs that stick in my mind are The Children's Sleep and Death Obsession. The build ups are long and deep. The feeling of despair slowly creeps in. Dark journeys through psychotic minds.

In conclusion. The album lives up to the doom funeral aspects they are projecting.
~Artemortifica

facebook-Aphonic-Threnody




Solium Fatalis - The Undying Season

Solium Fatalis is a five piece band from New Hampshire. Members are Jeff DeMarco-Vocals, Jim Gregory-Guitars, Ehren Hill-Guitars, Olivier Pinard-Bass, Flo Mounier-Drums. Genre is described as extreme metal.

The Undying Season album to be released on February 17th 2015 through Galy records. This is the bands second album and it is devastating. Having been exposed to their music back in 2013 from their debut album, I was very excited to lend my ears to this latest opus. This album rips. Relentless and intense from the moment I hit the play button. Full on assault as the drums come roaring through and crushing guitar riffs adding to all the madness. Not losing an ounce of brutality from the first release, this current release adds another dimension to the compositions. An Asylum for Penitence is one of the tracks that stands out to me, clean intro into some catchy melodic riffs with a heavy bass presence. Corruptor, has some interesting dissonant chords that are stiched together with some killer grinds on the drums. The track "Contagion" is probably my favorite, the high octane attack of double kicks is mind bending. Demonic screams and destructive solos send shockwaves through the spine, overall a killer song. As far as production, it is excellent, drums are spot on and all their dynamics sound crystal clear. Guitar have good distortion on both the rhythm parts as well as the solos. Bass is massive and punchy.  

In conclusion, this release adds another dimension to their existing brutality and rises the bar to another level. Pure brutality is experienced in every track and the melodies have a way staying in your head long after the songs are over. I recommended for fans of both melodic and brutal metal. ~Artemortifica

facebook-SoliumFatalis 




Algoma - Reclaimed by the Forest

Algoma is a three piece band from Garden River/Sault Ste Marie. Members include Darby Wiigwaas - Guitar/Vocals, Kevin Campbell - Bass/Vocals, JV - Drums. Genre is described as Sludge/Doom/Stoner.

Reclaimed by the Forest album released on Dead Beat Media October 8th 2014. This recording is made up of six tracks. Gritty and rough edged are my first thoughts. Bed Sores, comes in with heavy distorted bass and a creepy sample. I get the sense of doom and sludge permeating through this entire opus. If I have to describe it, I would say this is like Black Sabbath meets Neurosis. The title track 'Reclaimed By The Forest' is a perfect example of that aspect. Tertiary Syphilis is tainted with a good amount of punk rock influences. It is a gut punching, face in the dirt type of song. Adding to all the madness are all the clever song titles, "Get On, Git" and "Fell Down a Well" are good candidates. 

As far as production, it is not the best, but I think the raw and dirty grit is needed for projecting their style of music.
If you like your metal sludgy, raw and dirty than look no further, add this one to your collection. ~Artemortifica

facebook-AlgomA62  




Phobiatic - Fragments Of Flagrancy

Phobiatic is a four piece band from Essen Germany. Members include Kai Bracht- Drums, Robert Nowak- Guitars, Michael Stifft- Bass, Sebastian Meisen- Vocals. Genre is described as Technical Death Metal. 

Fragments Of Flagrancy album released August 29th 2014 by Unundeux/Cargo Records. Ten tracks of intense brutality. One of the things that is most notable upon listening to this album are the guitar riffs, fast and well written. Vast scale work is apparent in each and every song. House In Cleveland features fast arpeggio guitar licks which leads us into mid tempo verse with catchy lyrics. R.A.T.T. gets the blood pumping. In this song you will find several good mosh stomping compositions. Suitable Method is another favorite from this release. Killer blistering fast verse filled with demonic screams. It is one to keep on the replay mode. In terms of production. This one is excellent Drums are solid and devastating. great guitar tone for both rhythmns and solos.

In conclusion, I recommend for fans of tech death metal as well to the younger generation of metalheads. be sure to add this one to your collection. ~Artemortifica

facebook-phobiaticmetal 







Sunday, February 15, 2015

Infestum - Monuments of Exalted

Infestum is a four piece band from Minsk Belarus. Members include, Ion the Saint (Vocals), Wrathtodd (Guitars, sound production), Werwolfe (Bass), Forneus (Drums). Genre is describe as Black Metal, Death Metal, Industrial, Experimental. 

Monuments of Exalted album released on Lacerated Enemy Records 2014. The album consist of twelve songs. The dark energy and intensity can be felt from the opening track. Black Metal in its purest form. A journey into the darker paths of the world. One of the most intriguing songs would be The Art of The Beast, you can't resist its rapture. The melody slips inside the deepest part of your conscience and infest you with its dark malevolence. Zero Beyond has some monsterous blast beats, blistering and devastating guitar riffs. The synth melodies towards the end of this track remind me of old Samael. Obsidiant Exile is an epic and destructive tune, it is a song that truly gets the blood pumping. Relentless fury flows through the speakers. A savage and maniacal creation, its a track that should be played at high volume and bang your head to. Production is great. Excellent drum sound, heavy and destructive guitar tone. Crushing bass sound. Vocals are oppressive and demonic. 

Final thoughts, I recommended for fans of Satyricon, Samael, Behemoth, Dimmu Borgir, Mayhem and Emperor. The album is worth checking out and adding to your collection. ~Artemortifica 

facebook-infestum 




Black Jesus - Everything Black, Everything Dead

Black Jesus is a four piece band from Melbourne, Australia. The genre is describe as Scrap Metal. Members include Adrian – Guitar / Vocals, Mick - Guitar, Ben - Bass, Greg - Drums. 

Everything Black, Everything Dead album released on Grindhead Records 2014. If you like your metal raw and gritty then look no further. The songs exhibit several expressions of punk rock, thrash, sludge and pure adrenaline madness. The production is very good, solid drum sound and mid distorted guitar tones. Bass stands out and holds all the rhythms perfectly. Detonation is one of the stand outs, pure and intense quality. Scorch the Sky, Shackled to a Corpse and Born in a Tomb are reminiscent of early 90's death metal records. A Crimson Vow is probably my favorite, fast and aggressive attack on the drums and chunky guitars riff really make my head move. 

In conclusion, twelve tracks of face kicking, gut punching and elbow trowing fun. A record worth checking out while slamming beers with your buddies.
~Artemortifica

facebook-TheTrueBlackJesus




Itnuveth - The Way of the Berserker

Itnuveth is a Viking Pagan Black Metal band from Spain. Members include Lianne (Vocals), Volundr (guitar&bass). Established in July 2014. 

The Way of the Berserker album released under Xtreem Music October 18th 2014. The album starts off with a clean strumming guitar and female spoken word. My first impression is, this is a classic sounding record. The band manages to capture the early metal era of sound production. At times I forget that there are only two members creating this opus. The album has many interesting moments. Some of the songs that stuck out most in mind were Skoll, the opening riff is catchy and memorable. I found myself playing this track many times. Chaotic Chasm, raw and gritty black metal hymns. Lianne is probably one of the best, it is rather short but its melody stuck in my head and I found myself listening to it several times. My only complaint is the production is really raw, maybe on the next release it could be better unless this is what they are looking for, but I prefer a cleaner sound, beyond that I liked every song nonetheless.  

In conclusion, a great release, if you like the old school sound of the metal genre than this is one to check out. The band lives up to the Viking Pagan description. Many well traveled passages of dark adventures are awaiting for you in this album. 

facebook-itnuveth1973
~Artemortifica