Monday, February 29, 2016

Paroxsihzem - Abyss of Excruciating Vexes

Paroxsihzem is a three piece band consisting of, Impugnor (Guitar/Bass), Abyss (Drums), Krag   (Vocals). Music style is listed as, black/death metal. Band location, Toronto, Ontario.

Abyss of Excruciating Vexes MLP to be released on Vinyl/Digital March 2016 Hellthrasher Productions. A menacing album cover with equally destructive music to go along with its onslaught of blackened/brutal death metal. Imaging for a moment, tremendous beasts raising from a swirling pit of fire, that's how my vision seemed to go from the moment I hit that played button. Savage riffing with supreme blast beats and chaotic solos. The early death metal influence can also be felt, specially on the track "Isolation", reminiscent of Asphyx, Monstrosity and Sinister.

Brutal fans will love the absolute devastation coming from every single orifice of the compositions. While certainly not bringing innovation to the genre but keeping those roots alive and ravenous. This release gets straight to the point and brings a rapid attack of blistering metal that you will not survive.

Final thoughts, I enjoyed every song, the roots of the early years of brutal death metal are holding strong. If you are looking for raw and unprocessed music with a sharp edge, then look no further, check out this album.
~Artemortifica

facebook-Paroxsihzem


Thursday, February 25, 2016

Chaos Moon - Amissum

Chaos Moon is a one piece band, members on this release are  Alex Poole (Krieg,   Martrod, Esoterica, Skaphe, Lithotome). Vocals on "Amissum” track performed by Eric Baker. Cover photo by   H.V. Lyngdal (Wormlust). Layout by Black Moon Design. Music style is listed as, Black metal. Band location, Philadelphia, PA.

Amissum EP to be released on CD March 2016 on Helltrasher Productions. Digital release was on January 27, 2016. Featured here will be an extended version with bonus track "Resurrection III" and new version of "Amissum". My initial thoughts on this EP are, deep in trance, the waves of perpetual darkness created by the music are undeniably monumental. A sense of despair. Like a winding corridor that becomes bleak and barren. Rhythms are slow to mid tempo. Heavy reverb on the vocals and long tremolo picking through dissonant chords. This is my first experience listening to this project and it delivers a dark atmosphere. Noting some similar and previous groups, I can say that it reminds me of Xaos Oblivion, Hoth, Torrens Conscientium and Atrum Tempestas.

Presented here are five malevolent and potent compositions. The songs that stood out to me would be, "To Transcend The Spine", a mid tempo song with high screams that seem to come from the deep abyss. "Illusions of Dusk and Dawn (Rerecord)", comes in with great furious blast beats. Closer to a Gorgoroth or Belphegore style. The arrangements reach deep and take us on long and brutalizing journeys. 

Final thoughts, this release presents both dark and complex melodies. It creates dissonant soundscapes effortlessly and leaves the listener wanting more.
~Artemortifica

facebook-Chaos-Moon





Decibel Mag Premiere ÉOHUM 'Eurocide

Montreal black metallers Éohum have teamed up with Decibel Mag for the premiere of their second single 'Eurocide' off their upcoming EP 'Ealdfaeder' set for release on March 18th.


Band founder and guitarist Jeremy Perkins comments:
"Eurocide is the opener to our EP, a direct introduction with sounds of flutes and drum, influenced by the Celtic and Gaulic sound. Notes you would of heard in ancient Druidic ceremonies and festivals.

 It is a song I keep close to my heart and I believe it can be seen as our manifesto, speaking of the loss of tradition, culture and identity, these being side effects of any form of colonization and indoctrination of any peoples on Earth throughout the globe at any time in history. I think every culture can come together and relate globally.

Musically, it is what I can call a literal progressive structure where we play 9 distinct riffs in a row without returning to a break, before returning to our final riffs and outro as we commenced with and it works great!

Brings us to a place where human societies and nature lived symbiotically and in balance!"

The EP was recorded at Chris Donaldson’s (Cryptopsy) “The Grid” with a special guest recording from drummer Simon Mackay of The Agonist on tracks 2-4-5 and features a line up with band founder Perkins on guitar along with the return of Annie Perreault on French horn/flute, guitarist Sylvain Dumont, vocalist Barrie Butler plus new comers bassist Cesar Franco and drummer Luca Belviso whom have been part of the line up for the last year. All are focused on the distinct grassroots of old school plus very heavy progression that has flourished since last year to give way to a distinct path, sound and image with each member sharing common ground on the message, beliefs and ideas behind Éohum.

To listen to 'Eurocide' along with interview with band founder Jeremy Perkins, please visit the following link via Decibel Magazine: decibelmagazine-ohum-where-black-metal-meets-the-environment-heritage-and-french-horns 

Revolver Mag Video Premiere NECRONOMICON 'Crown of Thorns'

Head over to Revolver mag link below, they just unleashed Necronomicons' new video, "Crown of Thorns"


Delivering a lethal dose of symphonic, blackened death, Montreal, QC metal masters NECRONOMICON are returning in 2016 with their latest offering 'Advent of The Human God' set to be unleashed via Season of Mist on March 18th for Europe and March 25th for North America / rest of the world. The brutal assaulting soundtrack is the follow up to their previous SOM release 2013's 'Rise of The Elder Ones'. 'Advent of the Human God' sees NECRONOMICON at the height of their powers and is the veteran band's definitive album to date with tracks like 'The Golden Gods', 'Unification of the Four Pillars', 'Crown of Thorns' and 'I Bringer of Light' that demonstrate how deadly their extreme metal can be. Album pre-order available at season-of-mist.store
Teaming up with Revolver Mag, NECRONOMICON premiere their third single and music video 'Crown of Thorns'.
Vocalist Rob The Witch comments on the video:
"Religion is one of the ugliest man made invention to control and dominate those who dont bow before is rules. The biggest genocide in history have been backed up by religion, countless million of native from Americas have been exterminated with the permission of the Catholic church in exchange for the propagation of the word of God. Expect no peace for the world before religions are eradicated."
To watch 'Crown of Thorns', please visit the following link: revolvermag.-necronomicon-premiere

Beorn - Coming Home exclusive track release

Beorn Modern Symphonic/Power metal band from Russia, have just unveil the instrumental track "Coming Home", available at youtube and the bands Bandcamp site. Check out the link below.


We’ve always loved to listen to instrumental versions of the songs we liked with vocals because it give you the opportunity to reach some different edge of the composition; pay details to every part of the arrangement, that are usually heard in some other way in the mix; it gives you the opportunity to hear something new; or just cover the song. :) We think you like it as well. Therefore from this day on we will publish instrumental versions of the songs from “Time to Dare”.

Download track: click here



VESPERIA Cross Canada Tour (April 4-24) with KALMAH

Vesperia is set to Tour with Kalmah through Canada below is a list of dates and places plus live performance. Check them out

Live at Wacken Open Air 2015 - Watch here.
EP Stream - The Iron Tempests - Listen here.
Music Video - The Western Tempests - Watch here.
Conquerors of epic metal, VESPERIA will be supporting Finnish metal masters KALMAH's 2016 cross Canada tour from April 4th - 24th (dates listed below). The Oshawa based band has been rising up the ranks after winning the Canadian and International 2015 edition of Wacken Metal Battle crowning them the best in the world against other competing independent bands from over 30 other countries. Over the last 10 years, the international battle has been hosted by the world's largest outdoor metal festival Wacken Open Air that takes place every summer in Wacken, Germany with the planet's highest caliber of metal bands.


Prior to their tour, VESPERIA will be entering Blue Sound & Music Studios in Toronto, Canada this March to record their followup to 2015's 'The Iron Tempests' EP. Helming the project will be engineer/ producer Russ Mackay (Mastodon, Iron Maiden, Styx). The new album will feature an array of famous Canadian guest musicians and the art will be created by Juno award-winning artist Hugh Syme (Rush, Nevermore, Dream Theatre).

The band has launched an Indiegogo campaign to give fans many special and unique perks for their contributions, including mead made by VESPERIA's front man Morgan Rider, drinking horns, album pre-releases, the bands stage banners and much more! For all details and to contribute, please visit the following link: indiegogo-new-vesperia-album

The band comments:
"With the new year comes much and more from the Vesperia camp! We have been labouring away diligently behind the scenes to breath life into what will be our largest and most ambitious project to date! But to realize our ambitions, we are turning to you: our dear fans, family and friends for help in this new endeavour.
We decided that a crowdfunding campaign made the most sense to raise the necessary funds for our new album while allowing us the opportunity to give back to everyone who has helped build Vesperia to what it is today! We have crafted some truly unique gifts, perks and experiences to make this an incredibly special adventure for everyone. We cant wait to show you what we have in store!"


Canadian Tourture 2016 Kalmah & Vesperia 
April 4 – Toronto, ON – Hard Luck Bar 
April 5 – Ottawa, ON – Mavericks 
April 6 – Jonquiere, QC – Les Productions 4 Barils 
April 7 – Rimouski, QC – Salle Desjardins-Telus 
April 8 – Halifax, NS – Gus’ Pub & Grill 
April 9 – Moncton, NB – Esquire Tavern 
April 10 – Quebec, QC – Salle Multi de Méduse 
April 11 – Montreal, QC – Foufounes Electriques 
April 12 – Sherbrooke, QC – Le Murdoch 
April 13 – Drummondville, QC – Salle Gaston-Mandeville 
April 14 – Sudbury, ON – The Asylum 
April 16 – Winnipeg, MB – The Park Theatre (Manitoba Metal Fest)
April 17 – Regina, SK – The Exchange 
April 18 – Lethbridge, AB – Moose Hall 
April 19 – Edmonton, AB – Starlite Room
April 20 – Prince George, BC – Generator Cabaret 
April 21 – Vancouver, BC – The Red Room 
April 22 – Victoria, BC – Logan’s Pub 
April 23 – Kelowna, BC – Flashback’s 
April 24 – Calgary, AB – Distortion 
April 26 - Brandon, MB @ North Hill Inn **No Kalmah
April 29 - Timmins, ON @ The Working Class **No Kalmah

ANGER AS ART Premiere Lyric Video for "2 Minutes Hate"

Pure Grain Audio has premiered the new lyric video for "2 Minutes Hate" from Los Angeles thrashers ANGER AS ART. The song is taken from upcoming Old School Metal Records album Ad Mortem Festinamus. View the lyric video exclusively at puregrainaudio-2-minutes-hate-


Buy the album at osmrecords.myshopify.com

Throne Of Heresy - Flagellum Daemonum Video and live dates

Throne Of Heresy released their new album Antioch just a few weeks ago and now the present their new video Flagellum Daemonum and a few selected live dates. Watch the video below. 




Live Dates
27/2 - Belsepub, Gothenburg with Puteraeon and Creeping Flesh
12/3 - The Crypt, Linköping with Miasmal, Crawl and Snake Tongue
19/3 - Copperfields, Stockholm with Blood Mortized and Crawl

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Humanitas Error Est - Human Pathomorphism

Humanitas Error Est is a five piece band made up of, S. Caedes-Vocals. Rogan-Bass. Tzar-Guitars. Ghoul-Vocals. Void114-Guitars. Ahephaim-Drums. Music style is listed as, Black metal. Band location, Germany.

Human Pathomorphism album released on Satanath Records January 11th 2016. With a haunting intro, "Destroyer of Worlds", the band quickly sets us up for total annihilation. The blazing double kicks are tremendous and deliver high doses on intensity. Heavy tremolo guitar riffing and high screams send chills to the bones. It is good to here two sets of vocals doing some complex inter-changes, mid-low growls and high screams of intense brutality. I am reminded of bands like Bathory, Gorgoroth and Samael.

A sonic wave of enormous proportions continues to weave its tentacles from song to song. Some of the more notable compositions would be "My Sexual Benediction", "Skinning Alive" and "Bestial Penetration", are all well executed and express the memorable arrangements, but overall, I enjoyed listening to all their songs.

In conclusion, an atmosphere of complete darkness and chaos. An album full of energy and intensity. Heavy blasting and demonic infestation is presented in the highest manner.
~Artemortifica

facebook-humanitaserrorest


  

Centrilia - Memento Mori

Centrilia is a four piece band made up of, Gareth Ellis Bass, Vocals (backing). Andy Brown - Drums. David Sandford-Guitars, Vocals (backing). Gavin Marshall-Vocals. Music style is listed as, Melodic Death Metal/Metalcore. Band location, Glasgow, Scotland.

Memento Mori album self released on December 11 2015. Here is an ep that blew my mind. An epic and crushing assault is delivered. Since the start of the year many promos have hit my ears, but this one stayed in my mp3 player long after completing my review and I will most likely keep it in my player because the music is just that good. 

For an Ep made up of five tracks, it is massive and afflicting ride. The relentless power they deliver kicks of with "Tsunami", with a modern metal approach, the song is just devastating and if you are not hooked by the time you reach the end, then I would say, get your ears checked. The track "Be A Voice, Not An Echo", is absolutely my favorite, the spirit of rebellion is exalted high, it is a song that gets your fist pumping and the rage can penetrate deep inside. "The I In Evil", is another strong contender. I recently viewed a youtube video of the band performing this song live in concert and it is every bit as energetic as the recording. Some of the bands that can be noted as an influence would be At The Gates, Lamb Of God, Chimera and Meshuggah.  

In conclusion, a powerful performance with dynamic progressions. The message and force that is created will cause a big impact on the listener. As many great bands are sometimes missed, be sure not to pass up the opportunity to check out Centrilia, you will not be disappointed.
~Artemortifica

facebook-Centrilia





Murder Made God - Enslaved

Murder Made God is a four piece band made up of, Vocals-George. Guitars-Dennis. Bass-Stelios. Drums-Tolis. Music style is listed as, tech death metal. Band location, Thessaloniki,Greece.

Enslaved album to be released on April 15th 2016 Comatose Music. Upon hitting the play button a vicious attack of pure and unforgiving intensity is quickly delivered and my face is melted. No time is wasted as the music unfolds. With no restraints it batters its unsuspecting listeners. All the characteristics of extreme metal are explore. Some influences that can be noted would be bands like, Vader, Krisium, Suffocation and Morbid Angel. A very good production and heavy performance is captured. 

With this release the band offers us ten powerful songs of devastating nature. The title track is one of my favorites. Intense double kicks and demonic vocals. "Titan", is another big contender with high levels of aggression unfolding, is hard to resist the madness. 

In conclusion, if you want technical, progressive, extreme metal with a distinct sharp edge, then look no further, this album is for you.
~Artemortifica

facebook-mmgofficial



Stream an exclusive track at Decibel magazine decibelmagazine

Atrocious Abnormality - Formed in Disgust

Atrocious Abnormality is a three piece band made up of, Steve Green - Guitar and vocals. James O'Neal - Bass. Brent Williams - Drums. Music style is listed as, Brutal Death Metal. Band location, Kings Mountain, NC.

Formed in Disgust album to be released on Comatose Music March 4th 2016. Heavy and crushing are the immediate thoughts. I ended up listening to this album to and from work. It definitely helped me de-stress on a day to day basis. This is like a giant slab of cement smacking you in the face. The furious charge spewing forward cannot be contained. The album is very potent and menacing force. Low tuned strings, guttural vocals, slamming bass lines and erupting drums seizes the mind and obliterate any hope of getting out alive. The opening song sample is that of earth dying and people are at their end, sounds interesting. Once the first track begins you know this is a mosh worthy phenom. I am reminded of bands like Devourment, Defeated Sanity and Cryptopsy. Complex riffing with super heavy tones assaulting the senses.

My top pics from this release would, "Erotic Tales of Disembowelment", "The Inevitable Undoing" and "Storm of Ash". This is a strong and destructive recording. A "take no prisoners" type of aggression. Technical and brutalizing waves of gore.

Final thoughts, an abrasive punishing experience that will leave you speechless. High levels of brutality are delivered and you will not be disappointed.
~Artemortifica

facebook-AtrociousAbnormality


Begrime Exemious - The Enslavement Conquest

Begrime Exemious is a four piece band made up of, D. Orthner - Vocals, Guitar. F. Thibaudeau - Guitar, Vocals. A. Rintoul - Bass. L. Norland - Drums. Music style is listed as, Death/Black Metal.
Band location, Edmonton, AB.

The Enslavement Conquest album to be released on March 4th 2016 on Dark Descent Records. My first impression is, pure, raw to the bone music. The flood gates of hell swing open and this tremendous beast is set loose upon the world. At times the music reminds me of Pestilence, Six Feet Under, Bolt Thrower and early Hypocrisy. The band offers us ten skull crushing songs. The most potent and penetrating composition for me would be (Overpowered) Under Siege, powerful drums, rapid bass kicks and punishing guitar distortion. The roots of death metal can be felt all over this monster. Next in line of most memorable would be the track "Conscription Woes", many catchy verses and strong bass lines make it intense. "Noose For A Monarch", is a blazing speed demon with a savage attack and should be experienced a high volume.

Final thoughts, this album can wreck your senses. High levels of raw death metal are presented and they cut through like a sharp knife.
~Artemortifica

facebook-begrimeexemious



  

Martriden - Cold and the Silence

Martriden is a three piece band made up of, Kyle Howard - Keyboard, Guitars, Vocals. Shane Howard - Guitars, Vocals. Will Thackeray - Guitars. Music style is listed as, Death/Black Metal. Band location, Denver, CO.

Cold and the Silence album self released on November 28th 2015. My initial thoughts are, an immersion of progressive and melodic corridors. After a period of time listening to this release, I am still finding new things I missed the first time around. The group serves up seven potent and heavy songs. The track "Consequence" is the most notable. Its creepy atmosphere makes it an enthralling piece. The build up of aggression is subtle, but leaves a long lasting impression. "Pendulum", captures my attention. A prog rock sounding piece with black metal overtones highlighted by the vocals. The roots of death/black metal can also be felt and the compositions have enough melody the keep those rhythms playing in your mind. 

Final thoughts, the album is a force to be reckoned with. The power coming thru is potent and intense. The long soundscapes keep the listener captive from moment to moment. This is an album worth much exploration and you should lend your ears to it.  
~Artemortifica

facebook-martriden




Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Plutonium - Born Again Misanthrope

Plutonium is a one man band made up of, Mr. J. Music style is listed as, Industrial Extreme Metal. Band location, Sweden.

Born Again Misanthrope album self released on January 2016. Mr. J. was gracious enough to send me a hard disc copy of this malevolent beast of an album. In terms of production quality, this is a well balanced and powerful sounding recording. Strong drum sound and heavy tremolo guitar riffing. The black metal influence is noticeable right from the opening track. Rapid blast beats and demonic screams fill the air waves. This is Mr J third album as Plutonium. The project began in 2003 with the release of Wind of Change demo, followed by One Size Fits All album 2007, Devilmentertainment non-stop 2011 and A Decade of Indifference 2013. 

As I listen further into this creation, I come upon the track "The Inverted Panopticon Experience", a dark atmosphere becomes evident, like dark tentacles of despair reaching around your neck, this track can bring chills to your bones. The track "Casque Strength", arrives and paints a different soundscape, like an industrial wave or Nine Inch Nails influence infusion, either way, along with black metal style vocals, its an impressive track. Searching deeper now, the song "Renuntiationem", is by far a different experience. Sorrow, despair and darkness are the feelings projected by this track. A somber composition, subtle rhythm. The slow, clean strumming guitar sets a bleak resonance and its another favorite of mine from this album. 

Final thoughts, the album presents many characters, it can be fast and aggressive but also melodic and sorrowful. An impressive collection of artistic presentations. If you like extreme metal and dark melodies, then you will want to lend your ears to this release.
~Artemortifica

facebook-thetrueplutonium




 

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Grayscale Season - Head to Mist

Grayscale Season is a four piece band made up of, Eddie Lejhagen, Adam Dahlman, Richard Sörensen, Axel Karlsson. Music style is listed as, Metal. Band location, Kungsbacka, Sweden.

Head To Mist album to be self released on February 29th 2016. My initial impression, strong and powerful. Aggressive riffs become ominous right from the beginning. The production is very good. Great sounding drums and intense distortion sound. The vocals rage, low growls and screams. The band offers us twelve tracks and they are all devastating. Among my most favorite would be "Bones Break and Broken Bones", low tuned strings and triplet double kicks keep this one interesting and engaging. "Dead Man Walking", upon listening, it reminds me of groups like early Suicide Silence, Lamb of God or Animals As Leaders, the song delivers punishing wave of sonic persistence.  

Final thoughts, the album is monumental. Bringing forth rapid twist and turns with unexpected fury. A quality recording with shattering drums and strong rhythms layering complex arrangements. Be sure to check these guys out, heavy and powerful, you will not be disappointed. 
~Artemortifica

facebook-GrayscaleSeason



Human Decay - Cleptocrazia

Human Decay is a four piece band made up of, Francesco Belloni - Guitar/Voice. Jean Edifizi - Guitar. Michele Giromini - Bass. Mattia Mornelli - Drums. Music style is listed as, Thrash/Death Metal. Band location, Lunigiana - Massa Carrara.

Cleptocrazia album released on Sliptrick Records 2015. Exploring the fringes of frantic sounds and razor sharp metal. The album offers us a wave of old school death metal with twist and turns to keep the listemer guessing as to what comes next. Like a mad scientist cooking up unseen monsters to haunt our dreams. Some of the things that captured my interest were the guitar solos. You can hear one or two in almost every song. The solos add an extra flare to the compositions. The entire album comes across powerful and potent. With elements that are rooted in early thrash metal genre. Some of my favorite tracks from this release would be, "Brucia" and "Sperma Benedetto". The two happen have the most resonance and engaging riffs. The bonus song is an interesting one and sounds like a hard rock track and its much different than the rest of the album, it is worth checking out.

Final thoughts, the album is strong, with wacky samples and superior solos. If you enjoy thrash/death metal with an edge, this is worth checking out. 
~Artemortifica

facebook-truehumandecay





Primitive Man / Northless Split

Primitive Man, is a three piece band made up of, Ethan Lee McCarthy - Guitars & Vocals. Jonathan Campos - Bass. Isidro Spy - Drums. Artwork by Ethan Lee McCarthy. Northless is a four piece band made up of, Nicholas Elert - Guitar. Jerry Hauppa - Bass. John Gleisner - Drums. Erik Stenglein - Guitar & Vocals. Band locations, Primitive Man - Denver, CO. Northless - Milwaukee. Music style is listed as, Sludge,doom,metal.

Primitive Man / Northless split to be released March 4th 2016 on Halo of Flies. Kicking things of is Primitive Man. The trembling wave of destruction can be felt upon hitting the play button. Powerful dissonance of low tuned strings and howling screams of the beyond. The material is raw an abrasive. Dirty and sludgy distorted guitar riffs. The song is fifteen minutes long and shakes the ground. 

Next up is Northless, they offer us three bone crushing, grit and descending arrangements. With maniacal screams, crust ambiance fills the air waves. The band explores dark corridors and untouched realms of dissonance that are ignored by most. The experience is both intense and strange. My favorite song would be "Wasted Breath", its natural sound and long passages resonate with despair and hopelessness. 

In conclusion, both bands embrace all that is chaotic and devastating. A manifestation of grit and doom is exalted into the mortal realm with crushing results.
~Artemortifica 

facebook-primitivemandoom
facebook-NORTHLESS 







Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Totem Skin - Weltschmerz

Totem Skin is a five piece band made up of, Glenn Zettersten - Vocals. Henrik Dahlqvist - Vocals. Christoffer Öster - Guitar. Sebastian Engström - Drums. Johan Wiberg - Bass. Music style is listed as, Fast, Heavy, Atmospheric. Band location, Falun/Borlänge.

Weltschmerz album to be released on Halo Of Flies March 4th 2016. Prepare to have your face melted. An abrasive and chaotic force is unleashed. Grinds that bring pure punishment and direct contact. Think of bands like, Unrest, Disrupt, Napalm Death and Brutal Truth. These are seven tremendous and destructive songs with great production. Killer drum sound and intense guitar distortion. Some dissonant chords are thrown in for layering, adding more to the dimension of the sound. For example, the song "Pretend", has a particular fill in the middle that I really enjoyed. Starting slow and mellow, then building up steadily to the brink of climactic fury.

Final thoughts, the band brings full aggression with every song and they add enough dynamic structure to keep the music engaging and interesting to the listener.
~Artemortifica

facebook-totemskin






Briargh - Eboros

Briargh is a one man band made up of, Dux Briargh - All instruments and vocals. Music style is listed as, Melancholic Black Metal. Band location, Spain.

Eboros album released on October 27th, 2015, Morbid Shrine Productions. The music comes through with pure aggression and savagery. Nothing is over-processed. A very natural sounding recording is captured. Interesting aspects of the arrangements is how well the two guitar tracks compliment each other and trade of rhythms. 

The song "Eboros - Epitome of Death", has a captive and creative keyboard piece along with female vocals complimented with a clean strumming guitar. A thing to note, these songs are all in spanish. It is the first time I have heard black metal with spanish lyrics, it fits well and adds a different dynamic to the album. 

The drums have a natural sound and it is actually good to hear how intense the string parts are pronounced with the relentless battery of blast beats. 
Final thoughts, if you want pure, abrasive and from deep in the underground metal music, then this is for you.
~Artemortifica

facebook-morbidshrineproductions






   

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

ONIRISM - Cosmic Dream

Onirism is a one man band made up of, Antoine Guibert (Hentgarm, Belenos). Music style is listed as, Epic Symphonic Black Metal. Band location, Nantes, France.

Cosmic Dream album self released on Feb. 9th 2016. The sinister sounds of the underground penetrate the mortal realm once again. Upon obtaining this promo, I thought, the band name is unique, there is something mysterious about it and not your typical band name. Presented here are twelve engaging songs of dark atmosphere. Nightmarish intros and devastating black metal. Some of my favorite compositions would be "Ephemeral World I", comes in with a mesmerizing middle eastern sounding rhythm that slowly builds up into some powerful blast beats with demonic vocals. The track "At the Heart of the Desert for the Eternity (Introduction)", is epic. A big sonic experience with pulsing drums, mainly rolling toms, make lead way into a punishing onslaught of carnal sound. "The Curse of Ahriman", is a furious beast of a song, reminds me of Mayhem, Demonic Christ and Gorgoroth.   

Final thoughts, the album constructs a wide musical landscape with brutality, melody and atmosphere.
~Artemortifica

facebook-Onirismband





  

Castle Freak - Human Hive

Castle Freak is a four piece band made up of, Andrew Gigan-Guitar/Vocals. Zak Carter-Guitar. Ben Anft-Bass. Sebastian Phillips-Drums. Music style is listed as, Death Metal/Grindcore. Band location, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Human Hive EP to be self released on March 18th 2016. Let the slaughtering begin. Guts and blood everywhere. A tremendous display of raw brutality hits my ears. Reminds me of bands like Brutal Truth, Napalm Death, Death, Overkill and Mortician. Complete with horror movie samples. This EP is short, but packs a punch. Traces of thrash metal influence can be heard on most of the songs too. "Sickening Corpses" and "Human Hive", are among my favorites from this release. Like flurry of bullets, the music assaults with carnal frequency. A dedication to death and grind is expressed with guttural vocals and all the gore you can handle.

Final thoughts, it is a savage ep, full of toxic waste, zombies terror and violence. If you enjoy your metal served up with relentless punishment, then look no further and lend your ears to this beast.
~Artemortifica

facebook-CastleFreakPhilly


Previous release below



Monday, February 15, 2016

A.H.P. - Against Human Plague

A.H.P. - Against Human Plague is a one man band made up of, Gulnar. Music style is listed as, Depressive suicidal black metal. Band location, Norway.

 Against Human Plague to be released on Via Nocturna 21 February 2016. This is like a rising inferno. The album impacts with rapid blast beats and conjuring a dark perception. Tremolo guitar riffs layered with impulsive high screams. Some influences that maybe noted could be Bathory, Emperor or Spiritus(UK). Out of the ten menacing compositions, the one that stood out the most is "Drowned", a dark melody introduces us and leads into dark corridors. Feelings of despair linger and hopelessness is projected. The opening and title track is also another favorite and "Down Here", is enchanting and atmospheric. Like a trip through the void.   

Final thoughts, a savage execution of sound. Reaching down deep into the sorrow in ones mind.
~Artemortifica

facebook-againsthumanplague






Fall - The Insatiable Weakness

Fall is a five piece band made up of, Jessie Santos - Rhythm/lead guitar, vocals David Gutierrez -Bass Daniel Benavides - Rhythm/lead guitar. Lorenzo Perez - Drums. Music style is listed as, Metal. Band location, Portland, TX.

The Insatiable Weakness album self released on January 26 2016. My first impression, this music brings together many elements from the metal catagories and delivers an album that is intense progressive and devastating. Some of the influences that resonate within these compositions would be, Strapping Young Lad, Fear Factory, Grip Inc., Sevendust, At The Gates and Messhugga. You can also hear a wide range of vocal styles. Low growl, high screams, mid growls and regular singing. With all these parts coming together you might think it is a bit to much but, the band makes it work. Personally, I enjoy listening to all these songs. A monumental offering of eleven tracks is presented. My favorites would have to be "From Ashes", this song is melodic, brutal and progressive. Providing twist and turns while maintaining a relentless attack. "Gods of Ruin", is another worth mentioning. It packs a punch of sonic devastation. I consider the ending piece to this composition to be just amazing. I could listen to it for a long period and it just kept getting better. 

My final thoughts, this album delivers huge doses of good music to their fans and new listeners. If you like metal the constantly evolves and creates new paths, then this is the album you should be listening to.
~Artemortifica

facebook-falltodust





FT-17 - Marcellin sen va-t-en guerre

FT-17 is a six piece band made up of,  Hrotulf: guitars. Janus: Drums. Misein: Prime Vocals. Khorto: piano. Zymurgh: bass. Soazig Couëdel: back vocals. Music style is listed as, Extreme Melodic Metal. Band location, Nantes/Bordeaux/Lyon.

Marcellin sen va-t-en guerre album self released on January 29th 2016. My initial thoughts are, heavy and deep. Momentum builds up into a sonic wave of atmosphere and melodies. The first two tracks are spoken words. They are in French. On the promo sent, this is the description to the content of the album "August 3rd 1914: Europe sets itself on fire. In France, hundreds of thousands conscripts are mobilized to fight against Germany. Among them, Marcellin Trouvé a young school teacher who is mobilized in the 57th infantry regiment during WWI. The hero of this story decides to tell his story in his diary." 

In terms of production, a solid performance is captured. Catchy chorus lines, heavy and clear distortion sound. Powerful drums with devastating blast beats. The keyboards play a key role in the majority of this album. Very prominent in the song "Contre-attaque sur la Marne", and it also happens to be one of my favorites from this release . Some bands that can be noted as influence to these hymns would be, Dissection, Children of Bodom, Opeth, and Nightwish. 

Final thoughts, war themes and melodic passages provide a perfect landscape with memorable solos and cryptic stories of atrocities
~Artemortifica

facebook.com-FT17metal





Sunday, February 14, 2016

Among The Prey - Only For The Blinded Eyes

Among The Prey is a four piece band made up of, Iiro Kuntsi - vocals and guitar. Atte Palokangas - drums. Joni Laine - guitar. Toni Keskinen - bass. Music style is listed as, melodic death metal. Band location, Finland.

Only For The Blinded Eyes album to be released on Inverse Records February 19 2016. My initial thoughts are, high energy and engaging riffs. A solid slab of pure brutality. Compositions that deliver a massive blow. A total on nine tracks. Great production, heavy distorted guitars and strong drum sound. At times reminding me of At the Gates, The Haunted, Mastodon and Lamb of God. The songs that stood out the most from this release would be "Pieces" and Wake Up", in Wake up I really enjoy the hammer-on pull-off arrangement, its memorable and adds a certain dynamic to the song. It is a track that will make you want to clench your fist and come out swinging. 

Final thoughts, a savage and intense album. Metal that comes at you at a hundred miles per hour and obliterates your senses. if you enjoy bands like Chimera and Lamb of God, then you will most certainly enjoy this release. 
~Artemortifica

facebook-amongtheprey





Friday, February 12, 2016

Sacrilegium - Angelus

Sacrilegium is a five piece band made up of, Armeus-Drums. Suclagus Guitars, Bass. Aleksandra Keyboards. Nantur Aldaron, Vocals. Music style is listed as, Pagan Black Metal. Band location, Wejherowo.

Angelus album released on Release on 28 December 2015 Pagan Records. The band has been bringing their brand of madness since 1994 when they released their demo Sleeptime. This promo contains six different versions of the song Angelus. I will have to say my favorite version is by Angelus (Remix by Echoes of Yul), it is the atmosphere and penetrating hypnosis the synths create that most capture my attention. At times it reminds me of a Silent Hill type of soundtrack. Haunting and enthralling. At the time of this review the band has currently released a full album entitled Anima Lucifera. Below you'll find the link to the band BC so you can pick your favorite mix

Final thoughts, six renditions each with its own flavor.
~Artemortifica

facebook-SacrilegiumOfficial


Kult Mogił - Anxiety Never Descending

Kult Mogił is a three piece band made up of, Kalkulator Chronometrażysta - Drums. Thisworld Outof Guitars. Karmiciel Wszy Zdrowych - Guitars, Vocals. Members as listed at metal-archivesMusic style is listed as, death metal. Band location, Poland.

Anxiety Never Descending Release on 24 December 2015 Pagan Records. Dissonance and chaos are the two main ingredients in this release. The opening track comes through like sharp razor blades and obliterates the senses. Raw and gritty seems to be the projection of the production. Low growls and blast beats can be heard demolishing everything in site. The band offers us six punishing compositions. Reminiscent of early Morbid Angel but with a twisted and maniacal structure. Some of my favorites from this release would have to be "Serene Ponds", thunderous double kick work and cut throat solos make this particular song stand out. "Początek Wrażeń", not sure what it means but the low tuned strings send shivers down the spine. Like a cold dark hand wrapping tightly around the neck. A punishing song that's worth checking out at a high volume. 

Final thoughts, if you like chaotic and dissonant riffing, then look no further, this is the album to add to your collection. 
~Artemortifica

facebook-kultmogil








Canada's VALYRIA Release "Steel Inquisition" Single

Canadian Progressive/Melodic Death Metallers VALYRIA have released new single "Steel Inquisition." The single follows 2014 debut album Collatus and can be purchased and/or streamed at valyriansteelcanada-bandcamp.

"Steel Inquisition" is also streaming on YouTube at this location.

Hailing from the northern lands of Alberta, VALYRIA has crafted a unique brand of power-infused progressive death metal. Influenced by bands like WINTERSUN, THE FACELESS, and DRAGONFORCE, VALYRIA seeks to explore new sonic terrain with technical drums, inspiring keyboards, and engaging guitar work. Coupled with memorable lyrics based on film, literature, and history, VALYRIA's music is a blistering and exhilarating listening experience whether live or in your headphones.

In other news, VALYRIA is proud to be competing in the Prairies stage of Wacken Metal Battle Canada. See them live in Edmonton on March 20!


Thursday, February 11, 2016

APATHY NOIR - Across Dark Waters

Apathy Noir is a two piece band made up of, Viktor Jonas (All Instruments), Vidar Wetterhall (Vocals/Lyrics). Music style is listed as, Melodic Doom/Death Metal. Band location, Sweden.

Across Dark Waters album to be released on Artnoir Productions February 12, 2016. My first impression, intense, deep and moving. The initial track "Beyond The Sea", sets a gloomy path that will leads us into the void of no return. Good production, every instrument is well defined and comes through perfectly. The keyboard pieces are mesmerizing and capture the dark essence they are projecting to the listener. A mixture of low growl vocalization and also singing is well spread out through every composition. Some of the influence that may be noted would be bands like, Torrens Conscientium, Infestum and Sentenced. The band offers us seven long tracks. Some of my favorites would have to be, "Lure of the Sirens", with sorrowful and oppressive sounds, it is a song that can be played over and over and you would not get tire of it. "Death of Hope" is another track worth mentioning. Filled with powerful double bass drums and melodic riffing. It captivates the thoughts of long and sad journeys.

Final thoughts, hymns that penetrate the deep crevices of the mind. Rooted in the doom genre but adding a melodic touch that reflects an extra layer of sound exploration for both novice and frequent listeners of the genre.
~Artemortifica

facebook.com-Apathy-Noir





Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Mangled - Involuntary Organ Donor

Mangled is a five piece band made up of, Ryan Ritchie- Vocals. Matt Moyer - Bass & Vocals. Rafay Nabeel- Guitar. John Manger- Guitar. Joe Sweat- Drums. Music style is listed as, Death Metal/Thrash Metal/Grind. Band location, Atlanta, GA

Involuntary Organ Donor EP to be released on Boris Records March 1st 2016. This will be a 7” limited to 300 black vinyl. Three songs. Bloody and bone crushing metal. From the deep depths comes sonic madness delivered in a destructive manner. Some of the influence that I may note would be bands like Six Feet Under, Mortician and The Kill. Pure death metal battery to the ears. Side one, "They’re Not Gonna Stay Down There Anymore", haunting footsteps and door creeks into open chords of madness. My head starts moving and you know its going to be a hell of a ride. Crushing drums with demonic vocals. "Involuntary Organ Donor", reminded me of Obituary or Grave, aggressive, like a towering inferno. Side b, "Butchery Loves Company", bring on the body bags, things are getting messy around here. Nice song title. Like the buzz saw of a mad butcher, this song completes our journey and leaves us wanting more. 

Final thoughts, a short but devastating release. If you love gore filled lyrics, distortion that rips your face apart, then look no further, this is the band for you. 
~Artemortifica

facebook-Mangled





Curse / Styggelse / WAN Necroholic split

Curse is a two piece band made up of,  Eldur - Vocals, Guitars, Bass. Tybald - Drums. Styggelse, is a five piece band made up of, Skadeglade - Drums. Kallbrand - Guitar. Larsson - Vocals. Desekrator - Guitar. Thunderbolt - Bass. WAN: is a four piece band made up of, Tsjud - Vocals. Draup - Drums. Aganaroth - Guitar. Isengrim - Bass. Music style is listed as, black metal. Band location, Curse-Oslo. Styggelse-Gothenburg. WAN-Eskilstuna.

Necroholic split released on Satanath Records December 27th 2015. The first group on this split is the band Curse. They offer us four tracks with tremendous sound lingering on sludge/heavy rock. Influenced by Motorhead. Dirty and gritty distortion and pure raw riffs. "War of One" is the best song for me out of all four. Next, is the band Styggelse. Much better production quality for their recording as oppose to the other two. Their song "Angel Blood Shed", has a great feeling. Mid distortion guitar sound and heavy reverb on the vocals. They offer us four compositions and my favorite is "No Team in I", one of the memorable pieces for me is the chorus line, it is catchy and moving. The solos are on point and fit well. The final band on the split is WAN, four tracks of pure aggression with massive distortion permeate every riff. Their song "Pa Korset Vi Krass", is the dominating song for me. Malevolent and fast drumming is the stand out track by this group. 

Final thoughts, an impressive split. All the bands deliver extreme doses of metal.
~Artemortifica

facebook-cursefaen
facebook-STYGGELSE
facebook-TheUnholyWAN