Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Solium Fatalis - Solium Fatalis

Solium Fatalis self titled and debut album released on October 2013. The band comes from New Hampshire. Members on this recording Jeff DeMarco-Vocals, Jim Gregory-All Guitars, Dirk Verbeuren (Soilwork, Jeff Loomis, Scarve.) - Drums, Loic Colin (Scarve) - Bass.

Opening track is Prepare For Extermination, brutal and intense, enough to make the walls rattle and crumble. "Black Market", starts with a solid precise attack to the cranium. The production on this album is top notch, the drums come through with clear dynamic range. Guitars are heavy and extreme but retain a certain warmth when applied to the solo riffing. "Serpent Crown", I like the vocals, its a good range between guttural and low growl with a tinge of highs spread in the right spots. "Dead Sands Of Time", some of the bands that come to mind as I listen are, Immolation, Sinister, early Hypocrisy, Death and Suffocation. "Your Truth is A Lie", grinding and pummeling, if your not in the mosh pit by now you must be getting stomped on. The levels of adrenaline are past the peeking point. I would say this is my favorite track thus far, well executed and destructive. "Molecular Devices", death metal in its purest form, we also get to hear a solo that leads into an interchange of harmonies that is catchy and memorable. The 7th Gate, this particular song reminded me of another band I enjoy, Bloodbath, but only in the beginning. This final composition is "The Antilife", this track has a slight twist from the extreme brutality and features a clean guitar harmony with the bass layering some creative fills over it.

In conclusion, everything you could want from brutal to extreme with a solid production. Fans of death metal in the vein of Suffocation, Brutal Truth, Bloodbath, Cannibal Corpse, and Immolation will want to add this album to their collection.