Sunday, June 16, 2013

Potential Threat SF - Civilization Under Threat

To be released June 2013 under old School Records. Starting with a warning siren as an intro fitting for the album cover and name. My first impression is "this is a solid production". "The Threat of things to Come" completely take me back to the origins of metal, like Overkill, D.R.I., old Anthrax, and Exodus. Thrash riffing abound with maximum overload. "Stick To your Guns" like running into a war-zone, I enjoy the guitars the most, as I hear creative exchanges between rhythm and licks well executed. "In For The Kill" this track will be sticking in my head for time to come and content is heavy hitting and meaningful, a combination of catchy chorus and verse with a message to stand against greed and corruption. "Edge of Insanity", classic style of thrash happening here, I like the way the drums are kept imaginative through out. "Beneath The Surface", early Megadeth comes to mind when first listening to it, guitar doing dive bomb on the start is a good touch. Solo in this song is superb. "Behold The End", an amazing sounding twelve strings starts this song, it takes my full attention right away, reminiscent of Testament "The Ballad" but with its own flavor. Its a good break up in the album which shows the band can stay brutal even in a more melodic composition. "Written in Blood" is a song that allows the listener to hear how talented these guitar players are, at about the end mark riffing madness takes palce the will have you wanting much more. "Rise of the Apocalypse" want to hear some creative and solid bass playing than this song is one that you will want to spin, a perfect closer to this epic thrash, old school, metal assault. The band also has several EPs and full releases since 1990 so I encourage you to check those out as well.
~Artemortifica

Potential Threat MA






Weeping, Kneeling - Effigies

Self released May 2013. If you are looking for dark ambiance, atmospheric dark passages then you want to check out this album which is available for your listening pleasure at Bandcamp. Starting with the song "Procession" I get a good sense of the journey about to embark upon. "The Orthian" tech like drums are evident, setting a mood of void and emptiness. "Abandoned" clean strumming begins this track and is pleasing to my ears. "Nightdweller" we finally get to hear some distorted guitar, it paints a vast landscape before introducing drums and then builds into a dark composition with other effects intertwine. vocals a high and classic BM style. "A Plea" a bass effect kicks this one off, like exploring a cave or walking on a dak path through the woods and interesting listen. "On the Threshold" has to be my favorite track of the entier album, guitar riffs are really good and stick in my mind, drums are subtle yet effective. "For Ten years They Bled" title is good and painful sounding, there are many interesting sounds to explore in this song, a composition showing all sides of musical style in doom, drone, experimental. "A Hymn For The Departed", some guitar harmonies make this track stick in my mind, overall and intense an epic experience, I recommend for fans of doom, drone, dark atmospheric hymns you will not be disappointed.
~Artemortifica

Weeping, Kneeling BC




Frozen Hell - Rise EP

A five piece band from Traviso/Padova. Finally got a chance to sit and give this EP several listens. the first track is "Incoming Chaos", battle style drums prepare me for the onslaught that's to come. "Useless Memories" my first impression is "damn this sounds really good", guitars are lightning fast and are doing some intense compositions. "Face Me", I enjoy to hear a bass that does more than just follow the rhythm, in this song we hear several complex riffing provided by the bass, which is something I enjoy very much. The band is: Patrick - drums, Ronko - guitars, Michael - guitars, Tech - bass and Tazzo - vocals. Beginning in 2011 you made think these musicians must have together for far longer. The title track "Rise" is very brutal, many catchy hooks and features some solid doubles kicks on the drums, I can imaging this some impacting a mosh pit for live situations for sure. "Interrupted" is probably my favorite song, enjoy the vocals very much, guitars exchange some creative riffs in this track. "Until Daybreak" the first time I listen to this it reminded me of old In Flames or At The Gates, the way guitars trade harmonies is amazing and this is followed by some aggressive drums the have me banging my head each time I listen. Overall I recommend this album for metal fans of all generations both older and new, as you will find something to enjoy from these talented musicians.
~Artemortifica

Frozen Hell FB



The Mascaron - Beginnings EP

Conducting this review via the bands Soundcloud site. Mascaron is a five piece band from Latvia and UK. The cover to this album intrigues me, the cosmos an its vastness is always of great interest of mine so I particularly like this aspect and puts me in a metal readiness to experience their music. The first track "Out of Time" trance like intro leads into a solid rhythm and low end guitar with great tone. Vocals are both clean and deep. "Inside The Sun" tech style effect in the start, follow by a nice harmonize guitar layered with some very good vocals, I will be spinning this one for a while. "Serpents", at times remind me of Meshuggah or Fear Factory both which are some of my favorite. Production quality is excellent, all instruments are clear and balanced. "The Night Before", some of the rhythms are new in the way that are found in this generation of metal, which is not bad, its just that I hear this style quite a bit these days. In this particular song about half way in you will hear keyboards and guitar do a sweet exchange followed by clean guitar, I enjoy it very much and is a good break up in the composition, I will have to say this is my favorite track. "A Future Era", the last track, eerie style intro fits great, certainly a song that encompasses the atmosphere the band expressing from the cover, overall I recommend this EP for fans of Meshuggah or Fear Factory with a melodic flavor to their style, musically highly talented and  certainly a band that should stay on everyone's radar the coming years.
~Artemortifica

Mascaro FB



Monday, June 10, 2013

Sixpounder - Ruled by Anger

Three piece thrash metal band Sixpounder has been creating their brand of thrash metal since 2007 and this is their first album release, "Ruled by Anger" through Xreviews 2012. Stand for all Life, a hard hitter from the start, heavy guitars well executed rhythms. The title track Ruled by Anger is a hard driven experience mainly brought forth by the bass which has great production quality in the entire disc, there is also an official video for this song and it can be viewed on Youtube. Rise in Terror, almost reminds me of Megadeth in some parts, bass is doing some killer lines and we get to hear some fancy guitar work which is very good. The Marksman, probably my favorite song of this album, its begins with the entire rhythm section holding the main riffs and I got a very good idea of the skills both drums and bass player have from the moment I heard it. The One, this track will have you headbanging, a thrashy composition reminiscent of D.R.I. Get Insane, my mind is thinking of early Suicidal Tendencies through the majority of this song, well executed. Become A Saint, is the final song and I envision a big mosh pit beginning when performed in a live situation. The production is good, all the instruments are strong, I recommend for fans of D.R.I. early Anthrax, Overkill, or Suicidal Tendencies.   
~Frank G,
~Artemortifica
Publication in AEA zine #22

Sixpounder metal Archives
Sixpounder Facebook
Sixpounder Reverbnation




Prayer of the Dying - In Silence And Grief We Decay

A Nekrogoat Heresy Production released in 2011. One man BM project from Iklin, Malta. Prayer of the Dying is Martin Ciappara and this album is "In Silence And Grief We Decay". At almost a full hour worth of music, you have to admire the conviction of this musician. The Intro leads us into the darkest realms of experience and brings in the first track Memento of Decay, very good quality all the levels are balanced, all instruments clear and distinct. King of Terrors, loving all the riffs on this song, its amazing all the layers combined at times reminds me of early Samael or Bathory. Besides all the regular instruments (drums,guitar,bass,vocals) there is also keyboards! yes Martin has composed every piece you hear and with amazing talent. Destitute Throne, a morbid atmosphere builds into a war like field, heavy rhythms and raw guitars with a mix of clean and BM style vocal duality. Dead Embers, straight to the point lyrics, memorable passages. Sheltering Cliffs, is an instrumental, its builds a battle like surrounding, a great musical piece. Wastelands, has a doom metal feel to it through the entire composition, almost  reminds me of early Paradise Lost, which is great since I am a fan of them. Destructive Minds, early Behemoth comes to mind when I hear this track, features some crunchy style riffs in the chorus parts. Two other full length albums by this project include; "Structures of Dying Matter" 2007, "From the Mouth of The Passing" 2008, "Ghastly Laments" EP 2008, "Turn to Dust in Agony" demo 2008, and several splits in between, Martin is a busy guy. I respect how much a single individual can accomplish and he truly is a testament to the DIY spirit. Back to the album. "Dripping Woods" is track number nine, and its a magnificent piece leading with a clean twelve string acoustic melody and building an enchanting dark atmosphere. "Slain in The Name of God", most likely my favorite song in the entire album, it is one I played on my stereo several times. there are many elements to it, from fast and aggressive to mid-pace mosh style riffs, along with dark keys to tie it all together, the song is an amazing composition. In conclusion my exploration of this band has been a surprising adventure and I recommend it for fans of early Samael, Bathory, Behemoth and Paradise Lost.
~Frank G. 
~Artemortifica
Publication in AEA zine #22

Prayer of the Dying Metal Archives
Prayer of the Dying Myspace  




Mists of Poveglia - Black Death Lazaretto

An ambient project exploring everything there is to know about winter. The composer is Lord Forneus and this album is roughly 46 minutes long without any vocals just pure sounds and compositions to make the listener feel the coldness of winter wrapped its frozen hands around them. So I imaging myself going to this island and freezing to death but not right away, a long treacherous journey encountering every cliff, mountain, iceberg, blizzards and more. This compilation is just part of many others that can be found by searching out the band. Black Death Lazaretto captured my imagination for a while. Plague Pit misery is a mesmerizing experience. You will never See through the Mists OF Poveglia, its true to its name as I feel trapped in the winter isolation with no return. There are several bonus tracks included on this disc in much the same atmosphere of long cold nights of isolation without much hope of survival. Recommended for fans of ambient, doom, or just adventures through winter island paths.
~Frank G.
Publication in AEA zine #22
~Artemortifica

Mists of Poveglia facebook
Mists of Poveglia Discog





Morbid Insulter - Funeral Mysticism

Originated in Gothenburg, Sweden. A four piece band in existence from 2004-2011. This is a two disc compilation "Funeral Mysticism" released through (IHATE) of all the material ever released. In all its BM brutality and projection. I play the first cd. I am surprised this project ended because there is much talent here just by listening to the first couple of tracks. "Awakening The Spirits Of Evil", Death Fuck Bizarre", Blitzkrieg mayhem", Fornications in Paradise" are all true BM glory. The production varies slightly but still retains its brutality. CD two, Abominations Curse, fast and relentless guitars, blast beats keep the assault fresh and captivating. Thundering Evil, has a hint of old Sepultura Schizophrenia album production and vocals which is a good thing. Take me to Hell, achieves its goal with hellish riffs and aggressive bass punishing all your senses. Black Fate, it is crazy to hear how fast the snare drum is being hit at times almost like a blur. Wrath From Hades, I am enjoying the riff at the start, like something Dimmu might have done in their very first release. Antichrist Blastphemies, has to be my favorite, I feel this song captures all the musicians talents and capabilities, if you were to listen to it in its entirety I recommend maybe going to this track first. Poison of God, creative riffs abound, intense reign of BM blast beats. The last track is raw to the bone "Raped Graves" the most punishing track in the entire compilation, maybe its the pure recording or just its killer arrangement but this track sure leaves me wanting more, unfortunately there will be no more, the band officially disbanded in 2011 so that makes this comp a must own for fans of Morbid Insulter. I highly recommend this for fans of true Swedish BM. 
~Frank G
Publication in AEA zine #22
~Artemortifica

Morbid Insulter Metal Archives 
Morbid Insulter Spirit of Metal 





Stone Demons - The Craft of The Witches

Captivating from the first track, Gothic Cross has a ear pleasing start which I enjoy very much, a twelve string arrangement with perfect clarity. Haxan (The Craft of the Witches) pure metal flowing through this entire composition, raw guitars, strong rhythms and evil vocals. Vampyr, the beginning riffs fit the toll bell chime perfectly, its a great mix, almost reminds me of early Danzig days. Mournful Woman, some very cool bass lines can be heard on this track, guitars could be a bit louder but that's ok.  This a four piece band from Mexico City. Started in 1990 and this is their only release and it is distributed through Under Fire Records. When The Witches Burn, much faster pace than the previous tracks, guitars sound very crunchy and forward on the production which is good. There is also a cool sample intro and towards the end of the track which a fitting due to its content of evil hymns. Call of the Woman is the final track no lyrics provided, I believe this to be a bonus track, for some reason my mind thinks early Misfits influence music wise, vocals are holding down their own patterns but seem to be behind in the production (panned to the left speaker) on this particular track, I will assume it was recorded at some other point in time as it sounds different than the other songs. I enjoyed my exploration of this demo the band has some very good qualities and I recommend for fans of early Danzig or Misfits.
~Frank G.
Original Publication AEA zine #22
~Artemortifica

Stone Demons Myspace




Evoken - Atra Mors

Released in 2012 through Profound Lore Records. Atra Mors is the latest album by Evoken produced between 2010 and 2012. Atra Mors is eight tracks of dark majestic escapes. This band has been around for since 1992 and have done many other albums. The current line up is John Paradiso-guitar/vocals, Chris Molinari-guitar, Dave Wagner-bass, Don Zaros-keyboards,Vince Verkay-drums. This is my first time experiencing their music. The opening track sets the mood, dark and desolate. Descent into Chaotic Dream, enchanting and captivating composition, one has to suspend their mind for a moment to take it all in, the song builds into a great dark melodic ending with an intense guitar solo. "A Tenebrous Vision", early Paradise Lost, End of Green, MDB, and Novembers Doom come to mind. "Grim Eloquence" the lyrics are short but straight to the point and well thought out, I really like that aspect of writing, many bands write long lyrics that are just many sentences describing the same thing, so its good to see content that is short and to the point allowing the music to paint the journey. "An Extrinsic Divide", clean guitar with chorus/flange affect sounds superb, building into an atmosphere of sorrow and intrigue. "Requies Aeterna", particularly short compare to the others, but just as amazing in its ability to stick in your mind as a great track. "The Echoing Dread", using both clean and doom style vocals, the drums do good rolls on the phrase parts complimenting the entire song along with a solid bass line towards the end to make it stand out on this album. "Into Aphotic Devastation", is the last song , overall its a great album for me been a first time listener of this band. The songs are memorable, the production is top notch and it captures the death/doom style in great essence.
~Artemortifica
Original publication on AEA zine #22

Facebook.com/evokendoom






Deathstorm - As Death Awakes

Released on "I Hate" records on February 2013. "As Death Awakes is a full length album from Deathstorm DM band from Styria, Austria. The title track "Awakening of the Dead" sets the tone for this experience, my first thoughts are "great thrash/black metal style" the first guitar riffs grab my attention instantly, raw production - nothing fancy or polished. Straight to the bone metal the way it should be. This band began in 2011 with"Storming The Menace" EP, follow by a split with Terrorama.
Red blood Spillage, reminds me of Slayer Haunting The Chapel days. "Prepare for the Slaughter" if its speed you like than this song is for you. Starting with some creative rolls and speed manifestation assault is one hell of a track to have you moving in the pit. "Await The Edged Blades" its great to hear the old style of raw thrash metal in this composition, followed along with a bass that reminds me of old Anthrax albums. For been a new band coming out in a 2013 metal landscape that has super technical, melodic, overproduced albums, its great to hear something that's as raw as you would of heard in the early days in the underground. "Nihilistic Delusion" the main riff in this track is great, I keep humming it long after the song was over. "Visions of Death" along with full on thrash metal speed there are equally fast solos to compliment the whole experience. "Nebelhexe" slows a bit to introduce us to its brutality, with a clean tone and then a phaser effect , which kind of reminds me of Orion style slightly then turns into a fast aggressive tune. the last song is properly entitled "Rest", cool chorus - fast drums -raw vocals end my journey through this album. overall I enjoyed every song and recommend this for old school thrash metals fans.
Frank G.
Publication in Aea Zine #22
Artemortifica

metal-archives.Deathstorm






Psyborn - Time Zero

PsyBorn is a four piece band from Volos Greece. Time Zero is a self released EP from 2011. Recorded at Fabric Studios-George Tzay. The first song "Pain" reminds me a bit of At The Gates, at times also hear some The haunted influence in their guitar riffs. "Insane" is number two, it has an open chord type of chorus that fits the song but I think is a little long at times. "Holocaust" cool drums make a good highlight on this track. "On My Knees/Not Any More" I enjoy the dual vocals in this song, they are done rather well and blend nicely together. "Son of Mayhem" is my favorite from this EP, it has so many different things to it- good catchy riffs, great chorus, hard driving rhythm and memorable lyrics. They describes themselves as Hybrid Death Wave style which is something new to me, however there are metal roots that are evident through out. "Time Zero" is the title track and final tune in my listening experience of this band. Starting with solid assaulting double kicks and fierce guitar lines, its an intense way to incapsulate the entire experience.
This band has a lot to offer and I recommend people to visit them on FB see more on their busy schedule playing live events in their area. 
Frank G.
Physical Publiction in AEA Zine #22 
~Artemortifica

Psyborn FB






Ancient Reign - Of Moonlights Glare

One man blackened folk metal artist Saggoth. Its always inspiring to hear an album complete from the mind of one individual. A self release EP for 2013 and a full length back in 2011 Into The Nocturnal Bliss this is one busy musician. Intro is captivating and establishes the dark atmosphere. The Arrival, a hellish start, grabs the listeners attention from the first riff. I enjoy how the bass is filling in with some creative passages instead of just following the main riffs. There is a clean break about 3 minutes into this that feature a clean guitar that presents the folk metal aspect of the composition. "Of Moonlights Glare" title track hypnotizing synth paints the landscape, lyrics take me into a dark journey through cold environments. "Through the Forests Eternal" a mix of several instruments make this very interesting to my ears, followed by fast drums which the synth follows with precision. "Winters Reign" is the last track on this EP, reminds me of The Abyss or maybe old Sameal, going to have to say this song is my favorite, I played it several times, there's something epic about. The riffs are well thought out and have awesome hooks. I have to give lot of credit to this musician, at times you might think there are several members involve with th amount of creativity being experience with each song. To learn more and check out the other albums released visit the Ancient Reign FB site
~Frank G.
~Artemortifica
Physical publication in AEA zine #22





Sunday, June 9, 2013

Atomizer - Caustic Music For The Spiritually Bankrupt

Released on Hells Headbangers in 2008. The band formed in 1998 and split up in 2008. Hailing from Melbourne Victoria Australia. The albums starts with "Caustic Transmissions" hard to pin point where to label the style, they exhibit many. At moments thrash, then rock, then black, to ambient and metal. With all that being thrown in the pot they seem to attach it all seamlessly to create their own sound which is difficult for most bands to achieve, I even get a feel for a punk style in the way the vocals are delivered specially in songs like "Upon The Lamb Of Gob They Suckle No More" and "A Date with Eternity". Shame they are no longer active. One may think this would turned out to be a black metal onslaught if you were going base it on outside aesthetics. A closer inspection by listening track by track reveals a wealth of talent. Esoteria Is Now In Command" is a fast driven song a bit harsh on he vocals but it fits the speed been delivered. "The Song That Sounds Your Final Dawn" dark and haunting creating a mood to suit the title perfectly. "As The Blackening Waves of Fear Within Me Rise', high velocity on the drums, into a mid paced memorable style of riffing the hinge on a Rock n Roll style of playing. "Flowering Spores of Imagination" such titles of thought provoking topics is impressive, I enjoy been able to comprehend every sentence and enjoying the vocal style more and more as I listen to it. "All Disfigured and Blue" a tribute to auto asphyxia done in a catchy metal style riffing. "The Inevitable Mutiny", now we hear a subtle clean acoustic melody that is pleasing to my ears after an entire journey of heavyness its a nice break up in the album at this point. There is a sweet bass line that builds up this particular song which is very engaging and memorable. "Our Final Campaign" clean guitar begins and spoken word style fill the spaces, The last track "The Funeral Procession" is a fitting song to leave me spell bound and intrigue by all the music still swirling in my head. I recommend this album to metal fans looking for a variety of sounds which can only be describe as Atomizer.
~Frank G.
~Artemortifica
Physical publication in AEA Zine #22
Atomizer Metal Archives





Scion Rock Fest 2013 summary

Scion Rock fest in Memphis TN 6-1-13. Free festival took place in the historic Blues Town of Memphis on Beale street and Peabody Place. Bands that participated - New Daisy: A Life Once Lost, Vektor, Corrosion of Conformity, Municipal Waste, Melvins, Testament. Handy Park: Complete Failure, Gigan, Arsis, Impaled, Noisem, Six Feet Under. Club 152: Inter Arma, Ice Dragon, Subrosa, Gates of Slumber, Pallbearer, The Obsessed. Hard Rock: Call of the Void, Rotting Out, Code Orange Kids, Vision of Disorder, Touche' Amore, Negative Approach, The Casualties

There were so many great moments that took place, watch my video to hear about my entire experience.













Ocean Chief - Sten

Released on IHATE Records. March 2013. Doom/Psychedelia is exactly what you will get from this Swedish outfit comprised of Jocke Pettersson - bass, Tobias Larsson - drums/vocals, Björn Andersson - guitar, Christian Sandberg - guitar, Johan Pettersson - synth. Founded in 2001 and having several EPs and other albums, this on is their latest. Its only four tracks but they are long and involved. The first track Den Sanna Styrkan sets the tempo with some heavy distorted bass and vocals that are in Neurosis style of singing which I like very much. Slipsten droned and sorrow is the feeling I get as I listen, like traveling through the vast open water in the night, a landscape of dark shadows and empty fields. Stenhog, admiring how involved the bass player gets in these compositions which is something I don't hear much from some of the other genres I am used to. Vocals have an effect on this song which really adds to the ambiance of the entire track. Oden, wraps up this incredible journey into parts unknown, expressive sliding style of riffs begins this one, long and creating a feel of deep thought and emotion which can only be felt by listening to the whole song from start and giving it your full attention. If you like doom metal and psychedelic passages with Neurosis influence than this will be something you should check out.
~Frank G
~Artemortifica
Physical publication in AEA zine #22
Check out Ocean Chief on FB here facebook.com/OCEAN-CHIEF




Destruction of The Heavenly Realms Vol. VII -DeathGasm Records

A 16 track comp. to assault your mind. Released on DeathGasm Records. Track 1 Nominon "Worship" good production and sets the mood for the rest of the comp. Solid guitars and involved riffs. Track 2 Blaspherian "Desecration Eternal", almost reminds me of old Asphyx, very low end production, vocals are good and deep. Track 3 Diabolic "Venomous Habitations", super fast is an understatement, wow- this track blast from start to finish and never lets up, solid and aggressive speed thrash, most likely to start the mosh in a live ambience. Track 4 Abominant "The Wolves of Hate", I like the guitar riffs that start this one, remind me of old style like Dissection, I dig the vocals, they are high but not to much that overcome the instruments rather compliment them. Track 5 Avenger "Ritual of Wrath" great production everything is well balanced and has a great clarity to it, chunky and heavy guitars, classic style BM vocals make it a song to spin several times. Track 6 Infinitum Obscure "Feeding Darkness", raw recording engaging drums and inventive guitar writing make this a compositions to peel your ears to. Track 7 Azarath "I Hate Your Kind", some high pitch squeels on the guitars, really did not capture my attention much. Track 8 The New Plague "Diary of a Misanthrope", some very good talent being express on this song, guitars specially, nice hammer on pull off action. Track 9 Quinta Essentia, "Absent Illumination" (The Transgressor) more on the mid paced side of things, solid bass is evident here, drums sound a bit in the background but not bad, I like the title and lyrics are hard to comprehend so make sure to grab a lyric sheet. Track 10 The Pessimist "Mensa Rea' (With Evil Intent), exactly what the title describes, well executed drums and sick vocals make his my favorite track on this comp. Track 11 Occidens "Wrath of Blasphemy", solid fast brutal and featuring some killers solos, high talent and sick drums to capture all the madness in one brutal track. Track 12 Kult Ofenzivy "Jiz Nikdy Netratit Usilim k Nevhodnym", not sure what it means but musically its good, fast drums through most of it. Track 13 Manticore "Unveiling The Ascension" dark and heavy, eerie like chants, distorted bass and grinding drums to compliment. Track 14 Nominon "Life Extinct" this band has another track on here, cool, dark and ambient feel of this one, double kicks introduce a fast pace assault and lyrics wrap it all up into complete chaos, in a good way. Track 15 Nex "Rejections Glory" more on the venom side of things, raw production, drums are a bit behind -not to crazy about the vocals, cool cleans riffs from time to time. Track 16 Avulsion "Nomadic Hordes of Pestilence" reminds me of early Morbid Angel albums, vocals are guttural and aggressive, drums are bazing fast and guitars are creating a solid canvas over the entire composition. Overall a great Compilation with several style from thrash, BM, death, and doom- everybody from the metal stand point is bound to find something to like.
~Frank G,
~Artemortifica
Physical publication in AEA zine #22    
Check out more from DeathGasm records here facebook.com/DeathgasmRecords




Damnations Hammer - Disciples of the Hex

Released on IHATE Records. September 2012. A three piece avant garde metal style band with some catchy riffs and great production. Starting with Defiance & Retribution- as an intro compliments perfectly into the next track Throne of Fire- not the typical style BM vocal but more of its own individual taste which I enjoy. Next up is is the title song Disciples of The Hex- very cool intro transcends into a bad ass metal assault, solid guitars and deep bass. Serpent's Wrath, heavy toms start this track, remind me of old school Venom days, most definitely a headbanging master track for this record. Lyrical content is good and understandable the majority of the time. Impaled on The Horns of Betrayal, much faster than the rest of the album songs, made me take notice right away, builds nice into some aggression that will have most in the mosh pit in a live environment. Hardbingers of Darkness, evil chants spew from every orifices, with the instruments complimenting every note in perfect succession. The Hex ii, a solid guitar riff begins this song and I am thrown into a headbanging moment, probably my favorite track on here, very well executed. Gates to the Necronomicon is the last song, sounds like it was written in the vowels of hell itself, much different than the rest of the album, more on the enchanting side of things with an eerie feel to it, I rather enjoyed it, because it was a surprise to hear as it progress, like a dark path shaping moment to moment then into some creepy sounding guitars building into a killer song that will haunt me for nights to come. I recommend this for fans of school style metal like Venom or Celtic Frost with dark lyrical content.
~Frank G,
~Artemortifica
facebook.com/Damnations-Hammer
Physical publication in AEA zine #22




X-Reviews Compilation CD Vol.2 2011

X-Reviews Vol. 2 comes to us from Morelas Centro, Mexico. Executive producer; Mario Gallardo M. Released in 2011. Track 1 Aggressor "Toxic Addiction", first thought are on the punk elements I hear on the drums, then transforming into more thrash metal assault. Production is on the raw end of things but adds to the experience. Track 2 Dark Sadness "Nothing To Hold", interesting intro then into the song, for some reason I think of Paradise Lost when listening to this but the old PL not the new, production quality is very good. Track 3 Neverghen "Silence" my first thoughts are drums are in the background, quality is not that good but still listenable, rough guitars but cool riffs, dual vocals are cool. Track 4 External Tumor "Perpetual nightmare" very well done bass begins with some great skill, guitars come in with equal talent, excellent quality of production, aggressive drums solid snare and vocals reminds me a bit of old Behemoth. Track 5 Ammunition "Madness Controlled Nightmare" nice intro, can't remember where is from but I dig it, sick thrash riffs begin and are dominant through out, remind me of old Overkill and D.R.I. very good recording. Track 6 Pyrophoric "Beyond Divination" I have actually heard music by this band before, this particular track i have not heard- great death metal song with vocals on the guttural end and effected with some chorus or maybe reverb, solid riffs and composition. Track 7 Eisheth's Funeral "Conquest" much louder in production value, clear and clean, exhibiting signs of classic style of BM, high and captivating vocals, very evil sound which i enjoy. Track 8 Mummified "Malicious Incubus Excavation", enchanting and haunting keys lead us into a lavish nightmare of epic adventure, raw recording add to the manevolence factor, solid riffs and aggressive drums bring it to the top of the comp. Track 9 Infernal Execrator "Diabolos Execratus Execari", crazy title and equally mentally engaging music, super fast drums are slamming through out this piece and vocals like a chant in hell. Track 10 Moloch "Fallendez Herbstaub tanzt in\m Wind" painting a dark depressive canvas of deep pain and sorrow, not for everyone unless you are open to doom sorrowful music you might not like this track, I happen to enjoy it. Overall another great comp. with much to explore. 
~Frank G. 
~Artemnortifica
Physical publication in AEA zine #22   
Check out more from X-reviews at facebook.com/xreviews







X-Reviews Compilation Vol. 1

X-reviews is based out of Morelos Centro, Mexico. Compilation Vol.1 released 2010 -Executive producer Mario Gallardo. Track 1 Divine Sword "Patria Guerrera" really good band power symphonic onslaught a long song but very engaging, reminds me of Helloween. Track 2 Black Bible 'Black Winter Moon", traditional BM with very good production, I dig the vocals and drums perform solid kicks from time to time. Track 3 Atryum "The Last Word", melodic and spectacular, love the keyboards/vocals are well complimented. I get a sense of epic war like intensity. Track 4 War Faces "Rios De Sangre" translates to Rivers of Blood, raw and relenting brutality. Very aggressive and will have most people in the mosh pit. Track 5 Mandra "Social Virus", begins much like old school thrash speed metal, very raw production but that's cool because it creates a great ambience for the style. Track   6 Charro Negro "Todos Me Enferman" translates to They all Make me Sick, trumpet kicks this off which caught me by surprise- then builds to some very raw metal with killer vocals. Track 7 Via X "Milenios de Dolor" translates to "Millennium of Pain" total BM atrocity sounds almost like a live performance has been recorded, but drums still come through in good clarity. Track 8 Ablaze "Dark Titan" excellent death metal, very aggressive and brutal- loving the heavy guitars -vocals are deep and heavy as hell, guitars are well produced, chunky solid rhythms.Track 9 Aspergar "Sentry of the Apocalypses" classic sounding BM -enjoy the guitars and vocals remind me of the early years of BM- there are some elements of thrash metal that are evident here. Track 10 External Tumor "Mental Intoxication Torture" probably my favorite track on the whole comp. many good riffs including some clean guitar work make this song stand out above the rest. Track 11 Six Pounder "Marksman" better quality in production value, nice panning of the instruments, solid drums, most definitely headbanging lots to this song- vocals are raw and aggressive. Overall a great comp. many will find something to like.
~Frank G.
~Artemortifica -physical publication in AEA zine #22

 Check out more from X-reviews at facebook.com/xreviews