Exclusive interview with WITCHGÖAT

1- Hello and welcome to Metal Music Midwest, first off, thanks for taking the time to do the interview, could you give our readers a brief description of the group? Where is the band from?

  Thanks for the interest, Witchgöat is a band formed with the idea of retaking the old-school brutality of early Latin American and European thrash metal, adding a bit of the melodic aspect of the school of blackened death metal bands of the nineties. Witchgöat is formed by Salvadoran musicians with some experience in this musical genre.

2- Egregors of the Black Faith is the band's debut full album, how long did it take to write?

 I started writing the songs for the project at the beginning of 2016, with the idea of awakening the interest of some musician friends in the Salvadoran scene who soon joined the project, and the composition of the music for this album was finished at the beginning of 2017. There is a song "Putrefaction of Souls" (that was composed in 1991 for my first band called Funeral), this song was never recorded before so I decided to retake it and made arrangements to incorporate it to the album.

Although the album was composed since the beginning of 2017, there were some setbacks to coordinate with the rest of the band and to prepare the songs. It took us just over a year to be ready to record all the instruments, time in which M. Miasma composed the majority of lyrics for the album.

 3- What musical influence inspires the bands compositions?

 Some of us are not so young anymore, we have been listening to metal music since the eighties and we played our instruments since the early nineties, I would say that our influence comes from those days, from music like the early Sepultura, Sarcofago, Bathory, the melodic lead guitar of Coroner, the old sound of Mercyful Fate, the speed metal of Running Wild and Motorhead. Much of the music that was played in those days was quite melodic and catchy, bands like Exorcist, the early sound of Possessed and Death. There is also something of the sound of minor third harmonies developed extensively by the Swedish and Norwegian bands of the nineties ... we try to incorporate a bit of all the music we love and have been fans of all of our lives.

 4- The group started in 2016, can you tell us what inspired your ambition to begin the project?

 El Salvador is a very small country, underdeveloped and not much known, but we want to show that here we also share the spirit of primitive brutality that made great metal music from South America and the whole world. We spit our version of the metal music from the third world trying to collaborate with our effort to the development of this kind of music in the Central American region. Many of the current bands in El Salvador do a good job, bands like Conceived by Hate have set precedents coming up on European tours, bands like Invocation of Death, Morbid Stench, Conflicto just show very good potential, we hope to be part of that family of bands that put El Salvador on the metal scene map.

5- Can you give us details about the content and more in depth meaning to this new album?

In terms of the lyrics we touched topics related to SLM, war and psychotic illness.

6- In the beginning was it difficult to find musicians to collaborate with? did the band start out with one or two members? or did everyone come together at the same time?

After composing the first two songs, drummer E.Driller joined the band, he takes part of other projects in which I had the opportunity to participate. He showed interest in the new music and accepted to play for the new band. A few months later I asked M. Miasma for help, besides his talent as a great musician, he had the right voice for the project and, above all, he shares with me the same philosophical vision about what a band of this kind of metal should be. He accepted to be the vocalist and immediately recruited bassist C.Fog who is also a musician of great experience in the local bands of El Salvador. This is how by the end of 2016 the band was all complete, and in early 2017 we began to work on developing the compound themes.

7- The demo Umbra Regit originally recorded July 2018, how well was it received by the metal fans from your area?

Umbra Regit was the pilot demo that we recorded in parallel while preparing the debut album. Its sound is quite different from the album, it has a precarious production since it was totally produced by the members of the band in home studios. However, I think it has an honest sound and by listening to this demo you can already appreciate all the elements of the music of Witchgöat. Being a pilot test, a very limited edition was produced on tape , which was sold out in preorder, which was quite surprising. The review of the demo was generally positive and this encouraged us to continue working and improving the elements of the sound of the debut album.

8- Are there any upcoming shows or tours you can tell us about?

At the moment we don’t rule out performing concerts locally organizing with other Morbid Skull Records bands. El Salvador is a small country and it is easy to cover the entire territory in a few shows. Later on, if there is an opportunity to promote the album and organize concerts outside of our territory, we would be very interested.

9- Thanks for your participation, finally, what is the best way to get a hold of the band, in case someone wants to book or promote the band? Any final words?

Thanks to you for the invitation, it's a pleasure to participate in Metal Music Midwest. To communicate with the band you can do it through the Facebook site: www.facebook.com/witchgoatsv  or directly to the email: morbidskullsv@gmail.com

Our album can be pre-ordered at


USA MSR Webshop:



Latest blog announcements here - most current info
Support this blog please My store

Check out some live performances here
Carcass live - View it here
Nervosa live -  View it here
Immolation live - View it here

#heavymetal #music #promo #bands #artemorbid


Popular posts from this blog

An exclusive interview with the band After Infinity and their upcoming release A Game Of Chess

Exclusive interview with Spektrvm