Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Ingurgitating Oblivion - Continuum of Absence

Ingurgitating Oblivion is a five piece death metal band from Germany. members include, Ingo Neugebauer - drums, Christian Pfeil - bass, Sascha Hermesdorf - guitars, Ulrich Kreienbrink - vocals, Florian Engelke - lead guitars.

Continuum of Absence released on September 16th, 2014, Willowtip Records. This album consist of seven tracks. Even after listening to the first couple of songs, it was hard to figure out what genre to place their style in, not that it needs to be categorized. Metal roots are evident. Lots of twist and turns in the verses, grinding drums and stomping bass sound. There is a certain dark atmosphere to the writting process, off time interludes, dissonant chords, maniacal and deliberate execution. The music is intricate and mad as possible. The song Avatar Of Radiating Abscence is a mind bender, it makes the listener wonder where exactly in the cosmos they might end up. Since they are not following the standard formats we hear in many other bands, the music becomes an entity of its own unique signature.

In conclusion, an intriguing musical journey, much like its cover, mysterious and suspenseful, the album breaks some boundaries and wraps its dark tentacles inside your mind. ~Artemortifica


No comments:

Post a Comment